We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and good for animal lovers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Friendly and good for animal lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We were a party of 6 people. Our original plan was to stay for 1 night but when we got there everyone was intrigued by the animals and the accommodation looked comfortable,the host were friendly and most helpful, they were flexible with our plans and very knowledgeable about the area. Instantly we decided to extend our stay another night. There was a good spread for breakfast and we got to try ostrich omelet for a small fee. Overall lovely place with good vibes. Value for money. Remember you are staying on a farm the experience is totally different from that of a hotel. Pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realistic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    31
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
46
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at Big Bird Bed And Breakfast. The room we were in was very nice. We both enjoyed the Ostrich Tour.

The owners of Big Bird Bed And Breakfast are very knowledgeable. The breakfast we had was excellent.

We intend to go back to the Big Bird Bed and Breakfast next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grey2856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stayed for one night in a bedroom in the main house. The room was spacious and comfortable and clean. The bath was shared apparently with the owner (as I was the only guest in the main house). Although the family beach towels and bathing suits were airing to dry, everything else was fine. Had a great tour and visited with the ostriches and the the calves. I and the guests in the chalet were offered an ostrich egg omelette for an additional $5 (which seemed steep), but we all decided to experience this. No WiFi and the computer for the house was not working so had to use the internet in the bar down the road. Friendly accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momsadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We found our 1 night stay like home away from home. Our first impression was WOW! Awesome for us definately value for money. We asked for a 2 bedroom cottage we got a 2 bedroom castle. Fully equip kitchen, dinning, lounge and heaps of parking facility. A pantry full of fresh breakfast cereals and yummy hot freshly baked bread the next morning with real butter (I liked best) endless supply of artesian spring water and service with a smile! Got a go back to work (the thing i least like) but we'll be back again (the day i look forward too).

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinorangatiratanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

We have just returned from a long weekend staying here. Our party was 2 adults & a 2 year old & we picked this place because it looked cool for a small child. The ostriches were great & very friendly & our daughter loved them. There are also a couple of shetland ponies who tolerated her feeding & riding them. (Along with a lot of their breed they were a bit grumpy but this is probably understandable when they have an intermittent variety of small children trying to be friends!). The hosts were very friendly & the cottage was well equipped.

Unfortunately there were a few negative points. We arrived at 11am which may have been earlier than expected & the cottage was not ready. It was not very clean, but thiis may have been because of our relatively early arrival. The cottage was rather basic, which was okay but with a little effort could be made to look more comfortable. There have obviously been mice as there was mice bait in the corner. There was also a dead cockroach under a chair (I know that it is the country but still). The breakfast was disappointing - some cereal in the cupboard & milk & spreads in fridge, with fresh bread, fruit & yogurt delivered by the hosts. Sounds fine but the butter in the fridge was 6 months out of date, the milk was half empty & the delivery was 15 mins (first morning) & 1 hour (second morning) later than arranged - doesn't work with a 2 year old. The owners provided mineral water because the tap water is limey but this had run out after the first day & was not refreshed. The toilet roll also ran out while we were there & was not replaced.

In summary this place has fantastic potential & perhaps in peak season would be better but was disappointing. With a little more effort from the hosts it would be great.

  • Liked — Animals great, friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Breakfast late & disappointing, not very clean
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkgerbera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2007

We stayed here in late december 2006 in the Bungalow. The Bungalow is at the rear of the owners house and has two rooms, a bedroom and a Kitchen 2nd Bedroom and Lounge combined with seperate shower and toilet.
First impressions were not great. The owner is a very pleasant and friendly lady who showed us to the Bungalow. However the family cat sleeping on our bed (sorry to all the cat owners, but I have to sleep here) is not my cup of tea.
The unit needs a lot of maintainence (holes in carpet, broken door etc), the shower dribbled rather than showered, the bathroom was so small that I could not turn around in it (it was 1.4m square!) and was covered in mould and to top it off had hairy soap from the previous occupier. I could go on but i think you get the picture.
The main reason we booked here was so that the kids could see the ostriches ( there is a tour each evening of the ostrich farm) which was good and very educational. But we wont be back

  • Liked — The Ostriches
  • Disliked — Hairy Soap
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

We stayed at the Big Bird for one night in the self contained "Chalet". There were two adults in the party and no children.

The "Chalet" has a double bed in a separate room and a fold down sofa bed in the lounge-kitchen area. I was travelling with a friend and slept on the sofa bed, which is big enough to be a double bed once it's folded down. It was firm and comfortable; the linen given for it was clean and fresh. There is a television and radio in the living room. Both worked and had excellent reception.

The unit itself was clean and came with a grill, single hob, fridge, cutlery and crockery. There was a selection of cereals stored in airtight jars and the owners provided milk, butter, tea and coffee for us to use. They also provide a cooked breakfast in the morning for a few extra dollars which is very good value for money. The breakfast includes home-made bread, ostrich bacon, ostrich omlette, mango juice, fruit salad and yoghurt. I found it to be very tasty, well worth taking advantage of.

I would say that this B&B is best suited if you are travelling to Waitomo with a car. It's only about a ten/fifteen minute drive from the various cave companies but probably a bit of a trek if you have to walk it with a family. The owner was very helpful in giving directions and telling us about things to do in the area. Their son runs a caving company and you will get a discount if you also view the caves with his company and stay in the B&B. We can't really comment on this as we had already booked with another company but will say that the owners were very unbiased about it and provide brochures for all the caving companies in a room directory. They also gave us an excellent recommentation for eating out in Otoruhanga town.

The owners provide a tour of the property, which we missed becase we were caving, allowing you to see the ostriches. Having said this, the ostriches are kept close to the farm and can be seen easily even if you miss the tour.

There were very few down-sides to the stay. There are some quirks of the Chalet building, such as the bedroom door locking from the outside (but there is a full-length window-door leading directly outside thus preventing your children from locking you away!) and the high-up bathroom window being clear rather than frosted glass as I would expect. These minor, minor issues are offset by the friendliness of the owners, excellent service and quality of accomodation.

I would highly recommend the chalet (which cost $90 for two people) for a small family with one or maybe two young children.

Helpful?
2 Thank TwilightSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
4.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.2 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Farmstay
Waitomo Farmstay
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
5.5 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
0.2 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 Waitomo Caves Road | Rd 7, Otorohanga 3977, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Big Bird B&B & Petting Farm is an "Animal-Lovers Paradise" with over 50 pettable animals of 13 varieties. Our theme is Large Birds & Miniature animals and we have a fibreglass Giant 4.3mtr extinct Moa Mascot and "Charlie" the tiny Miniature Bull who will likely be the "World's Smallest Bull in Sept 17 when he is 2yrs old. We have self-contained cottages and Farmstay rooms in the homestead and welcome all size groups. Prices are $55 per adult, $25 child (5-12yrs), $20 (1-4yrs) and $30 teens. (Mini-horse rides for under 30kg) Self-contained $10 extra. Bungalow (sleeps 6) Chalet (3) Studio (3) Cabin (3-4) Homestead (Queen/ensuite + single) (Family queen + 2 singles) Twin 2 singles. Prices include: Continental breakfast, Free Ostrich/Emu & Miniature animal tour, FREE WIFI. Parking. We welcome guests to a working farm/home environment with a family atmosphere. Latest pics Facebook or website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing