We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing country setting, beautiful views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed in the Chalet with my adult son for two nights. It was the perfect setting to recover from jet lag. Anne & Ross were very welcoming. Anne recommended dining places in every price range and numerous activities. The farm tour was a delight. It was quite an experience to see ostrich & emu up close. Breakfast was delivered at a time that was convenient for us. We also enjoyed meeting the other family that was staying at the B & B.

Room Tip: One-of-a-kind experience for children. The animals were tame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamajujubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a fantastic family stay at Big Bird. Anne looked after us superbly with plenty of breakfast and an ostrich omelette!! The farm tour was so interesting, getting up close with all the animals - have you ever seen what's underneath an ostrich wing? Remember to take your gumboots.
We stayed in the bungalow, heaps of room for us 5 plus a couple more kids if you have a big family. Room was not flash but very comfortable - that's exactly what we were after. The rates are very reasonable for what you get.
We even picked up an empty ostrich egg to take home, a great souvenir for the kids to remember their stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Was a great place to stay for a couple of nights with kids while visiting Waitomo as we were or I imagine for a night while calling through. Anne was great with the kids and all the tame and miniature animals wonderful. My son loved riding the miniature horse and both kids loved Pip the dog. I liked the tame ostrich. We stayed in self contained bungalow which was clean and tidy. Not flash but all you need was there. Anne cooked us a lovely breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend it for an escape from city. The caves were great too and just down road. Only not so great thing was close to main road so not quite as tranquil as you might except for country break but more than made up for by other elements and well placed near caves and Otrahonga town. Also recommend the cafe/bar on the corner in town for great meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWHITTENHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The animal tour is great for kids - they can feed austriches, bulls, donkeys and many more animals. There is also a very friendly dog. It's close to the caves. The owners are friendly and talkative.

The family room is small and very dated, and you hear the traffic noise from the nearby main street (plus from the other rooms). Breakfast is average.

Overall: good fun outside for the kids, but accomodation is not great value, especially compared to other BB's we had in NZ. The separate cabins looked newer/nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I love this place -- it has such a nicer vibe than staying in a hotel. The hostess Ann was really friendly, and we had a wonderful time touring the farm with the ostriches and different miniature animals. We stayed in a room in the main house, and I really appreciated the use of the kitchen to make dinner. Breakfast was yummy and family-style -- the ostrich omelette didn't taste much different than a regular omlette but it was nicely prepared and yummy; I recommend trying it. I definitely look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradleymonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night to visit the waitomo caves on the drive down to Wellington. Having read the previous reviews we were looking forward to staying in this b&b but unfortunately it didn't live up to our expectations. We booked into the "budget option" room for $75 per night (breakfast extra $5) which was basically a small spare room the owners have in their house. It had 3 single beds but barely any space to move around or store luggage. It was also very out dated and cluttered. On the plus side our private bathroom was very clean. The hosts were very friendly and talkative, and the location is a 5-10 min drive to the caves. The added tour around the farm was also a fun and different experience. Overall, I would recommend not staying in the budget option, but perhaps exploring the separate units which might be nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a lovely time at Big Bird! We stayed two nights and our 2yr old son loved being able to see the animals any time! He became instant friends with the family dog Pipi! The family are lovely and provide plenty of great recommendations about tours and restraunts etc. They also do a lovely continental breakfast!
The animals are great and there are so many varieties!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
0.1 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Farmstay
Waitomo Farmstay
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
48 reviews
5.5 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
150 reviews
5 mi away
Palm Court Motel
Palm Court Motel
#4 of 4 in Otorohanga
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waitomo Stays
Waitomo Stays
#3 of 4 in Otorohanga
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast

Address: 17 Waitomo Caves Road | Rd 7, Otorohanga 3977, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Big Bird B&B & Petting Farm is an "Animal-Lovers Paradise" with over 50 pettable animals of 15 varieties. Our theme is Large Birds & Miniature animals and we have a fibreglass Giant 4.3mtr extinct Moa Mascot and "Charlie" the tiny Miniature Bull who is one of the smallest bulls in the world. We have self-contained cottages and Farmstay rooms in the homestead and welcome all size groups. Prices are $55 per adult, $25 child (5-12yrs), $20 (1-4yrs) and $30 teens. (Mini-horse rides for under 30kg) Self-contained $10 extra. Bungalow (sleeps 6) Chalet (3) Studio (4) Homestead (Queen/ensuite + single) (Family queen + 2 singles) Twin (2 singles.) Prices include: Continental breakfast, Free Ostrich/Emu & Miniature animal tour, FREE WIFI. Parking. We welcome guests to a working farm/home environment with a family atmosphere. If you enjoy animals - this IS the place for you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing