We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Zealand at its finest”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Everything about our time at the cottage was wonderful. Liz and Evan were excellent hosts! The home cooking was superb and everyday we found fresh baked goods in our cottage when we returned from touring. The scenery was beautiful and the cottage was charming. This farm experience cannot be missed. You will not be disappointed staying here and if you are, you are hard to please and need help immediately! Thanks again Liz! My mom and I will always look back on our stay with fondness! Thanks for representing the best of New Zealand!

Room Tip: There was no pool or fitness center, but there are excellent walking trails around the vast farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and the wonderful magazine you left for me. I'm happily experimenting with those recipes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Traveling from Queenstown to Auckland and staying at several places within New Zealand, this place was by far the best stops we had. The property is just so inviting and the scenery is magnificent, but to top it off with the great hosts, we wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Evan and Liz for sharing your farm with us and making our trip even more memorable. See you next time!!! Nick M.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much! It was great to meet you both. I'm so glad you felt "at home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

With a place like this I didn't know whether I should stay quiet and keep it a secret or share it with the world! I have decided to be a little less selfish and say...WOW! I proposed to my fiancee not too far from here and Kamahi Cottage was the idea spot to stage what was to become the standard in luxury farmstead stays! I could not praise Liz and Evan enough for turning the trip into a dream come true! Thank you both for the experience of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Expect total peace and quiet...relaxation at its fullest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Your stay was a delight. We wish you all the very best for your lives together. We'll always remember the helicopter landing on our front lawn to whisk you away for your romantic outing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our 2 night stay in April exceeded our expectations. We were travelling with our children who are 7&8 they both enjoyed having some freedom to wander the beautiful property, and amazing gardens. The food was exceptional we all enjoyed the fresh baked goods after a busy day exploring the nearby caves. Would definitely recommend staying for a few days to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Your family were a delight. Thank you for finding us and spending a few days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arriving at night in the rain, our GPS led us to the welcoming lights of Kamahi Cottage. From the moment we drove up the drive, my 14 year old son just looked at me and said "You have absolutely nailed it Mum - this place is beautiful!!!"

Anything one might need has been thought of and met. Kamahi Cottage exceeded our expectations. Dinner and morning / afternoon treats were beautiful. Hospitality was outstanding! Loved the location; close to everything but far enough way to be a retreat.

Recommend the Indian Curry in town - authentic indian favours, aroma and taste - just delicious. Also recommend the Waitomo caves and Kiwi House. Hobbiton a few hours drive away which is fantastic and definitely not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globaltraveller G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thanks for your lovely feedback. It was great to finally put faces to names and meet you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Out in a peaceful meadow lies a most beautiful stop with hosts Liz and Evan at Kamahi Cottage. The cottage is situated in an ideal setting with everything one could want including a well stocked kitchenette, wine and spirits, good reading materials and comfortable bed. The cottage is very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Liz is a wonderful cook and both Liz and Evan are engaging hosts. We were made to feel most welcome after a long day of travel and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildflower233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you! The time was too short, but your company over breakfast was just lovely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our stay for two weeks in March exceeded our expectations by far, Liz & Evan are wonderful hosts, they always made us feel so welcome in their home as well as their wonderful cottage.
There are many interesting places to visit in the area as well as just relaxing at a beautiful rural location. The breakfasts are wonderful, and the quantity including fresh fruit and home baking can last a whole day! You will not be disappointed! 5++++ for sure!!!!

Room Tip: This is a single self contained purpose-built cottage nearby but private from the home site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

We felt very privileged to have you stay for so long! Our time with you gave us a chance of rediscovering quite a few great attractions in our own "backyard"....thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
10.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
253 reviews
11.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
546 reviews
5.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
63 reviews
7.0 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
11.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range: $295 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamahi Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing