We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Rough”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Rough”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

With a place like this I didn't know whether I should stay quiet and keep it a secret or share it with the world! I have decided to be a little less selfish and say...WOW! I proposed to my fiancee not too far from here and Kamahi Cottage was the idea spot to stage what was to become the standard in luxury farmstead stays! I could not praise Liz and Evan enough for turning the trip into a dream come true! Thank you both for the experience of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Expect total peace and quiet...relaxation at its fullest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Your stay was a delight. We wish you all the very best for your lives together. We'll always remember the helicopter landing on our front lawn to whisk you away for your romantic outing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bronte, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our 2 night stay in April exceeded our expectations. We were travelling with our children who are 7&8 they both enjoyed having some freedom to wander the beautiful property, and amazing gardens. The food was exceptional we all enjoyed the fresh baked goods after a busy day exploring the nearby caves. Would definitely recommend staying for a few days to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Your family were a delight. Thank you for finding us and spending a few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arriving at night in the rain, our GPS led us to the welcoming lights of Kamahi Cottage. From the moment we drove up the drive, my 14 year old son just looked at me and said "You have absolutely nailed it Mum - this place is beautiful!!!"

Anything one might need has been thought of and met. Kamahi Cottage exceeded our expectations. Dinner and morning / afternoon treats were beautiful. Hospitality was outstanding! Loved the location; close to everything but far enough way to be a retreat.

Recommend the Indian Curry in town - authentic indian favours, aroma and taste - just delicious. Also recommend the Waitomo caves and Kiwi House. Hobbiton a few hours drive away which is fantastic and definitely not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for your lovely feedback. It was great to finally put faces to names and meet you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Out in a peaceful meadow lies a most beautiful stop with hosts Liz and Evan at Kamahi Cottage. The cottage is situated in an ideal setting with everything one could want including a well stocked kitchenette, wine and spirits, good reading materials and comfortable bed. The cottage is very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Liz is a wonderful cook and both Liz and Evan are engaging hosts. We were made to feel most welcome after a long day of travel and sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildflower233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you! The time was too short, but your company over breakfast was just lovely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our stay for two weeks in March exceeded our expectations by far, Liz & Evan are wonderful hosts, they always made us feel so welcome in their home as well as their wonderful cottage.
There are many interesting places to visit in the area as well as just relaxing at a beautiful rural location. The breakfasts are wonderful, and the quantity including fresh fruit and home baking can last a whole day! You will not be disappointed! 5++++ for sure!!!!

Room Tip: This is a single self contained purpose-built cottage nearby but private from the home site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We felt very privileged to have you stay for so long! Our time with you gave us a chance of rediscovering quite a few great attractions in our own "backyard"....thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPV, CA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent a wonderful evening with Liz and Evan at the Kamahi Cottage. We wish we had more time at this location, but our trip schedule only allowed one night. We had a lovely dinner and breakfast in Liz and Evan's dinning room. Liz is a great cook! I loved the baked eggs in mustard sauce for breakfast. Delicious! The cottage and grounds were wonderful, even though New Zealand was suffering a drought at the time. The accomodations and care taken by Evan and Liz of their guests was greatly appreciated. We are a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 teen age girls. The cottage does not easily accomodate 5 and one of the girls was asked to sleep in an extra bedroom in the main house. The best compliment I can offer is that before dinner the girls were arguing about who would "have to" sleep in the house, after dinner they were arguing about who would "get to" stay in the house. Thank you to Liz and Evan for making our vacation so special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It was a very special pleasure to finally meet you all. I do appreciate the compliment paid by your lovely daughters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our cottage was so adorable, luxuries you would expect at a 5 star resort. Liz's cooking was the best, the special little touches like fresh baked goodies when you went to your cottage. Best French toast we ever had and her deserts are unbelievable. You have to have dinner there it was the most relaxing, coming back from a day of adventure and there was Liz...wonderful. Her gardens are unbelievable an in the evening Evan placed the bagpipes and it was such a pretty sound. A most stay for a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the lovely feedback. I hope the rest of your NZ holiday was everything you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
10.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
11.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
5.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
7.0 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Property: Kamahi Cottage
Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing