We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled, relaxing and all round perfect place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled, relaxing and all round perfect place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

A romantic cottage with everything on hand and wonderful views.
To top it off wonderful products to use free of charge in bathroom - fell in live with the scented body oil!
Great breakfast - shame we were only staying one night!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you...do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
143
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a wonderful place and terrific hosts. The cottage is lovely and the grounds are immaculate. We dined in the main house both nights with our hosts Liz and Evan. The food was excellent and Evans playing the bag pipes topped off our evening. We will definately be back and can't recommend them high enough. An excellent way to begin our holiday in New Zealand. Karl and Vickie Pfitzer, USA.

Room Tip: There is only the cottage, adjacent to the main house. It will easily sleep four in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Your company was wonderful. Thanks again for all your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedlington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We are coming back to New Zealand in your Spring of 2013 and once again we are asking our tour operator to book us into your wonderful accommodation. This time we will be staying for 2 nights and my mouth is watering now at the thoughts of your wonderful breakfasts and dinners. Looking forward to this stay as we have decided that this will be our last rip to New Zealand. Your cottage will be our last nights of our last trip and once again I can rest assured that it will be very memorable. What a really wonderful way to end our New Zealand trips. I strongly recommend a stay in this lovely little spot. It is really a paradise in New Zealand.

Brenda and Oliver Fowler, Bedlington, Northumberland, England

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendabedlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thanks so much for choosing us for your return visit. It'll be great to see you again. I'll get out those recipe books!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I had the priviledge of staying at Kamahi Cottage for two nights during our recent holiday in New Zealand.
From the moment we arrived I we knew that two nights wasn't going to be long enough!!
The cottage is set in one of the most beautiful locations, overlooking the lovely New Zealand countryside on the north island. It was a very special place.
The cottage it's self was very cosy and comfortable. Equipped to the very highest standards with all the amenaties that we were looking for.
We opted for breakfast in the cottage and we were both very impressed with the food. Liz did a great job feeding us with lovely local food, home made jams, bread eggs, bacon and fruit. It was also great to come home in the evening to sample the lovely homemade cakes washed down with home made schnapps.....a real treat!!
We were both really grateful for the help Liz gave us in planning our "activities" the day we left, and for finding out the opening times and prices for us. Nothing seemed to be any trouble .
Thanks to Liz and Evan for a wondeful stay and for sharing your warm and friendly hospitality with us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thanks so much. So glad you enjoyed Evan's home-made schnapps. The plums from our orchard do excellent service - everything from plum jam to plum schnapps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I am a bit delayed writing this review of Kamahi Cottage which we visited last month but I did want to complete our 6 week tour of New Zealand to put my review in perspective. While we stayed in a number of excellent spots on the tour, I can now say that Kamahi was the nicest place we stayed in the country.

Kamahi is about a 15 minute drive outside Otorohanga. The cottage is self contained about 30 seconds walk from the owner's house. It is beautifully appointed, very comfortable and we particularly enjoyed sitting on the swings outside the front door in the late afternon sun enjoying a cocktail before dinner. The cottage is stocked with some georgeous wines, hand picked by the owners- Liz and Evan Cowan- and available at cost to guests. We took the opportunity to enjoy a couple of new-to-us pinot noirs with dinner and were very impressed.

Although Liz offerred us the option of having dinner on our own in the cottage, we chose to have dinner with them in their lovely home. Beforehand, we enjoyed some time in their large, and beautifully sculpted, gardens overlooking the countryside. Then we had appetizers outside on the patio before moving inside for the main course and dessert. Dinner was fabulous as Liz is an outstanding chef.

We had a wonderful evening of conversation, learning much about New Zealand and covering a cross section of world politics with Liz and Evan. Very interesting and stimulating! On the way back to the cottage, Evan took time to explain the Southern sky and star alignments to us. The stars were brilliant and clearer than we typically see in North America. Georgeous setting.

Next morning, we had yet another excellent meal for breakfast and more terrific conversation with Liz and Evan before departing. We can say that Kamahi Cottage was an oasis of relaxed gentility in our sometimes hectic tour and our only regret is that we had not booked for a longer stay. Next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGilliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Manager at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so much! We wish you could have managed a longer stay too. There's so much more to see and do around Waitomo & Otorohanga , than is commonly realised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed one night at Kamahi Cottage, near the Waitomo Caves in New Zealand, in January, 2012, booked through Fine Tours New Zealand. Thank Heaven for our GPS to find it, but the trip was well worthwhile.
The cottage is equipped with every known comfort and perched on a hillside overlooking the surrounding farmlands and the extensive farm property on which it is situated. So lovely to sit on our porch at sunset overlooking the serene countryside, then go next door for an amazing gourmet dinner cooked by Liz Cowan, our hostess. We felt like very special guests and enjoyed a wonderful evening learning about many wines and New Zealand culture and politics in very lively converstion with Liz and Evan. Then back to our beautifully appointed accommodation, where every detail had been carefully thought-out and provided for. Breakfast the next day was, again, a feast prepared by Liz, and we left feeling that we had made new and very gracious friends. I would love to return again, and would be sure to spend more time there next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
We loved sharing our evening with you! Your interest in and knowledge of NZ wines was amazing...I'm sure you found many more wonderful wines to sample!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Our one-night stay at Kamahi Cottage in December last year was arranged by Luxury Vacations NZ, and we couldn't have been more grateful for the arrangement!

First, having a part of the country side and a warm, lovely cottage to ourselves was something we've never experienced before. The view was amazing, and the cottage itself cosy and self-sufficient.

Liz was a warm host, not to mention a great chef! Having a sumptuous dinner at the end of a long day of driving was a definite welcome. My fiance and I were naturally shy people, so we opted to have dinner and breakfast at the privacy of the cottage - which Liz also readily accommodated with a smile.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and it was a pity we only stayed one night. Thanks very much Liz! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applez12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was lovely to have you to stay and I'm so glad we made you feel welcome here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
10.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
11.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
5.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
7.0 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Property: Kamahi Cottage
Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing