We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend away from the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Redwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redwood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend away from the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Julie was a wonderful host. My wife and I needed a break from Auckland and this B&B provided the perfect escape. We went on an amazing Black Water Rafting trip but were completely frozen afterwards. The spa and sauna were a great combo to get us feeling our hands and toes again. The room was modern and very comfortable and the bottle of wine with the platter were pleasant treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhagemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    42
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waiuku, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent just one night in this gorgeous lodge - my hubby, me and our two year old daughter - and it was wonderful from start to finish!
Beautiful cheese&meat plate on arrival (was customized for my vegetarian husband - no prob).
Lovely room, very spacious. Really quiet and naturesque:) location. Very cool and really generous owners! Breakfast was delicious with plenty of yummy options! THank you guys, we wish you well!!!! and hope to be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenAnna99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Redwood Lodge before doing the Waitomo Caves Lost world adventure. The B&B was clean, spacious and very peaceful. Julie was very friendly. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
475 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Redwood Lodge is an excellent B&B, quite near Waitomo. The rooms are spacious. The breakfast is very good. Service is fine. Evening meals are availabble on request and are very good as well.
The surroundings are beautiful. There are animals on the farm. You can sit on the deck are near the swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This wonderful B & B is in a country setting with plenty of peace and quiet. When we arrived we were greeted by Julie with a plate of warm freshly baked very large chocolate cookies (although she called them biscuits). Probably the best chocolate biscuit/cookie I will ever have. Our room was beautiful and clean and the bed and linens were like sleeping on a cloud. There was a very large deck, pool, hot tub area surrounded by trees that we did not use--only because we didn't have enough time. Julie also has a pet boarding business (horses, dogs and cats). We got to visit all of them after eating a delicious breakfast made by Julie who we discovered is also a fantastic chef. My husband and I both had eggs Benedict--one of many alternatives we had to choose from--and homemade, freshly baked croissants. The location is very close to the Waitomo Caves. This was our first of several B & B's in New Zealand. Redwood Lodge set the bar pretty high, especially on the breakfast part! Thanks Julie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMaggie50266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at Redwood Lodge on a personal tour of NZ. We stayed there night before last. Julie, the host, was super. The accommodations were excellent. Nice hot tub outdoors, sauna, entertainment room, pool, great eggs in the morning from her chickens, just an all around nice experience. We would stay there again. They have four units and several nice areas outside to sit and relax. A group of 2,3 or 4 couples would have a very nice time here. Thank you Julie for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very nice. They are all ground floor with outside entrances and connecting to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

First we thought : what a drive. But then we were very happy to be here because there was everything we needed. There was no need to go out anymore after : they have thought of so may details, that you literally feel at home. Your car is parked in front of the room which can be appreciated if you have some suitcases to carry.
Then there is a fridge filled with soft drinks, wine. So you can help yourself and sit outside on the patio relaxing. Your room has a coffee making facility.
There is sauna with extra shower, jacuzzi, pool : I cannot review these because I did not use them.
You can book dinner or evening antipasti platters.
All this makes it a real homecoming and you can stop thinking and planning.
Julie is a young mother with drive, motivation. She is a good cook and a hard worker.
We really think this young family deserves the greatest success.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isis1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
5.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.3 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.1 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Lodge

Property: Redwood Lodge
Address: 222 Puketawai Rd | RD 6 Otorohanga, Otorohanga 3976, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten minutes from the famous Waitomo Caves, Redwood Lodge offers travelers affordable luxury in a tranquil setting. Redwood Lodge offers 4 good-sized heated/air conditioned, king/twin or queen en-suite rooms, each provided with tea/ coffee making facilities. Enjoy our eight acres of park-like grounds, guest lounge with TV, pool table and open log fire to warm your toes during the colder months. Relax in our hot spa, sauna or enjoy a cooling dip in our in-ground swimming pool before relaxing on the deck in the summer sun. With dinner available you can settle in for the night. After a good nights sleep wake up to a delicious and filling cooked or continental breakfast, homemade preserves are standard. Your hosts look forward to welcoming you into their home and if required, happily offering a wide range of information on the area in which they live. Discounts are given for multiple nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing