We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful introduction to Kiwi hospitality”
Review of Redwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redwood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful introduction to Kiwi hospitality”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have given Redwood Lodge an excellent rating because although I accept it may not meet everybody's expectations of a deluxe B & B, hubby and I found it perfectly met our accommodation needs in Waitomo. I agree with previous reviews that the Lodge is a work in progress but I can also see the potential that Julie and her husband saw when they purchased it. Not to say that it isn't already a lovely place to stay, because it is. Julies care for her guests comfort and her commitment to improving all areas of the B & B can not be faulted. Our room was of good size with a large en suite and looked out on to the front garden with it's beautiful well -shaded lawn area. We could walk straight out of our room onto a beautiful new deck area complete with handcrafted seating and tables ( made by Julie's hubby ). During our stay, we did not have time to use the pool, spa or rec room so I can't comment on those. Julie is a great cook, the breakfast menu highlighting organic locally sourced products. Brekky in the large dining room overlooking the garden, chatting with other guests about our Waitomo adventures is a highlight. Julie's information leaflets she has compiled about places to visit and dine at was very useful. I also like the system of taking soft drink and alcoholic beverages from the communal fridge as you need them and then paying when you leave. Everything we asked for, was provided. Fresh towels to go black water rafting and a clothes rack to dry our wet things after just outside our room. This is a very relaxing place for couples to stay but I can also see potential for catering more for families. It has sort of a farm stay vibe about it, so maybe go with that and build a small cottage in addition to current rooms or add to the lovely little playground they have for their daughter out the front. Maybe even allow patting or feeding of some of the animals. Our room's decor was clean, neutral and modern. I liked the chesterfield style comfy couch along the wall too. Touches like this definitely make a room more inviting. Hubby thought the curtains in our room let in a little too much light but that didn't bother me. The rest of the lodge is decorated with in an eclectic retro style which I find quite appealing. Souvenirs from travels abroad sit along side family heirlooms. The style of the decor throughout the house will become more cohesive I imagine as time and money allow. For me, I like to see the history in a house and feel that it has been lived in so I found it charming. Anyway, the whole place is very functional for Julie and guests as a B & B. I would definitely see this place at the upper end of Waitomo B & B accomodation and I would like to stay there again. If I came back in a year or two, I would expect to see more improvements to the facilities because I can see that Redwood Lodge are aiming to give the best B & B experience ever. Thank you Redwood Lodge for making Waitomo a great place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    42
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
90
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Redwood Lodge and really enjoyed our time here.
We believe we got great service, a tasty breakfast and luxury facilities at a very reasonable price.
Though some facilities are still to be updated, you would have be a real fuss pot not to see that this country B&B is a work in progress for this family. Julie works really hard to make everyone's stay comfortable.
There is the Pet Lodge next door and we were not disturbed by the animals at all, the only time we even noticed any barking was feeding and walking times. Though we are animal lovers and would rather hear the odd dog barking than horrible traffic noise.
Thank you to Julie and Donovan for being gracious hosts.

Room Tip: Choose the Tui room, it is off the pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardandKarenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our room was spacious and very clean and sitting on the adjacent sun deck, in the sunshine, relaxing over a drink made the journey to this rural retreat worthwhile. With a lodge, family, livestock and pets to juggle Julie did remarkably well but some of the extra facilities (eg. hot tub, pool table) could have been better maintained. With its rural location we choose to pre-book our evening meal, which worked really well, as the conversation flowed over dinner with our hostess and other guests, food was fine.

Room Tip: We had the corner room, which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Redwood Lodge is a sensational quiet country setting with easy access to the Waitomo caves. Julie the host was very accommodating and friendly and added to our holiday experience. Her breakfasts and dinner were a must for the quality of the meals and the company and conversation. Julie loves a chat and is a great source of knowledge about the local area. The rooms are clean and fresh and the facilities comprise: large rooms with ensuite, dining room, swimming pool, spa, games room, gym and ample room for car parking. An added feature is the horses, cows and the donkey in an adjoining property. Excellent value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PolarBear789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF bay area
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Plus: Decent size room, nice deck, hot tub, good bathroom fixtures, clean. Comfortable bed. Negatives: Ironically, in the middle of nowhere but RIGHT next to a dog kennel and barking may be an issue. Although you may get the idea from this site and owners web site that Julie is quite the cook, I found this not to be the case. Of the 3 breakfast choices only the eggs Benedict was palatable at all. But you will pay for breakfast whether you like it or not. The location is about a 1/2 hr. drive from Waitoma in the middle of sheep and cattle country. Its truly in the middle of nowhere. Unnecessarily far from the caves in my opinion. Summary: Waitomo is tiny town with only a few businesses. Noise etc. was not the issue we thought it would be. Would have preferred staying close in "town" where the caves, restaurants etc. are. In my opinion not worth the extra drive. You will probably spend only a day in Waitomo anyway.

Room Tip: Ground floor corner suite was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00justthefacts00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was a quick visit (one night), but we greatly enjoyed our stay at Redwood Lodge. The setting is lovely and we greatly enjoyed a dinner by the chef. Make sure you plan ahead for dinner -- it is great. A great place to relax and enjoy the lovely countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hosts welcomed us warmly despite late arrival and made us feel really comfortable.
Juliet - not only an excellent cook but a great consultant for planning your local adventures - was accommodating all our wishes and more than helpful organising everything. The breakfast was delicious - with the choice being ours, including the time for serving. It might as well be the only reason to come to the lodge since there are plenty of restaurants/cafes in Waitomo but some of them in want for quality.
The rooms - although clean and well equipped - are a bit outdated (hello 70s and 80s) and stuffy. Having the windows open during the night helped a lot, and I am sure the owners will soon overhaul the lodge to provide more comfort to their guests.
After a tough caving day, the spa is a bliss, with nature providing the background music.
The grounds are beautiful, the location tranquil and inviting for longer strides through the countryside. For any pet owners the concept of lodge and kennel might be worthwhile considering for an extended holidays for pets and owners alike.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
5.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
244 reviews
6.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
529 reviews
6.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
389 reviews
13.5 mi away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
59 reviews
5.1 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Lodge

Property: Redwood Lodge
Address: 222 Puketawai Rd | RD 6 Otorohanga, Otorohanga 3976, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten minutes from the famous Waitomo Caves, Redwood Lodge offers travelers affordable luxury in a tranquil setting. Redwood Lodge offers 4 good-sized heated/air conditioned, king/twin or queen en-suite rooms, each provided with tea/ coffee making facilities. Enjoy our eight acres of park-like grounds, guest lounge with TV, pool table and open log fire to warm your toes during the colder months. Relax in our hot spa, sauna or enjoy a cooling dip in our in-ground swimming pool before relaxing on the deck in the summer sun. With dinner available you can settle in for the night. After a good nights sleep wake up to a delicious and filling cooked or continental breakfast, homemade preserves are standard. Your hosts look forward to welcoming you into their home and if required, happily offering a wide range of information on the area in which they live. Discounts are given for multiple nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing