We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy & friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwood Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Redwood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy & friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Comfortable room, excellent breakfast, very nice hostess, beautiful place, good value. Just perfect to combine with a memorable visit to the Waitomo Caves!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    42
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
85
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

In New Zealand for the Rugby World Cup, two friends and I decided to spend a night at the Redwood Lodge, before making our way up to Auckland. Coming off to a rough stay the night before, Julie immediately set us at ease about our stay at the lodge - one of the best places we stayed on our trip.

After getting to know Julie a little bit, she's an excellent conversationalist, she showed us to where we'd be staying and we were pleasantly impressed. Julie had even made us some cookies in anticipation of our arrival. Upon tasting the cookies, we knew the next morning's breakfast would be good. We had a great night's sleep and breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious! It was no shock to learn that Julie is trained as a chef.

This is a great B&B with stellar accommodations, a fantastic hostess/cook, a hot tub, a pool, and a lounge room complete with a pool table.

If you're in Otorohanga for a night or few, you have to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

2 friends and I booked a room at the Redwood Lodge to have a convenient location to the glow worm caves. The previous night, we had a bit of a rough night at another B&B and were a bit nervous after driving to the Lodge and noting its rural location. Once we pulled up, Julie came out to greet us and quickly put those concerns to rest.

As others have noted, Julie, the proprietor, is a gem and really went out of her way to make us comfortable. The rooms were very nice, beds comfortable, bathrooms stylish and well-appointed, breakfast hearty and tasty, and grounds immaculately kept. Julie gave us unvarnished recommendations for places to visit and routes to take on our journey.

The Lodge is not a place to stay if you're looking to be in the middle of the action (nor is Otorohanga!), but if you're looking for a place to unwind after a few long days of driving or rough city days, it's perfect. You can't help but have a perfect sleep and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are comparably well-appointed and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed here one night after visiting Waitomo Caves in the afternoon, as we didn't want to travel too far, and an evening meal was available so we didn't need to venture out again. The meal was excellent, as good as any restaurant., so we were very pleased.

We were the only people staying and it did feel a bit odd, as it's a big rambling place and in need of a bit of TLC. Our room was very big, and could've been really cosy, but it just felt a bit cold and unloved. The bathroom needed updating too - though a big plus was the very generous-sized bath towels, which many of the better places seem to skimp on!

It was good to have free internet access, even though the computer had seen better days! It was also good to have reasonably-priced beer and wine available in the guests' fridge.

All in all, not a bad place to stay for a night, but needs time and effort (and a bit of cash) spending on it - it could be really great, but I fear the young owners are trying to do too many other things.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Travelled over the Easter break with family. Although we stayed only a single night, it is an excellent base from which to explore the whole Waitomo region.
We had read the revies on Tripadvisor and the accommodation live up to expectations.
What probably gives it the edge over other value-for-money properties is that is genuinely feels like an extension of the hosts own home in the attention they pay to detail.

Julie cooks a hearty morning breakfast - and we found that she would happily provide us with a gluten-free based diet on request as members of her family also have the same requirements.

This is so rare that I thought it deserves a mention for fellow travelers out there afflicted (if I may say so) with the same problem, One less thing to worry about!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thethreeofus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

We booked this accommodation to visit the Waitomo glow worm caves. Although we had difficulty finding the lodge, once we found it, it was a real gem. The bedroom was clean and well equiped. The host Julie asked us if we would like an evening meal and since we had been driving all day, this was a real treat . The meal was excellent and would have been comparable with any first class restaurant..

Breakfast proved to be equally good and we wished we could have stayed longer but we were on a whistle stop tour to see as much of New Zealand as possible.

I would recommend this place to anyone. What amazed us most though was having seen her produce fantastic meals and help us with local information and bookings, she told us she was also looking after her daughter who was only 5 weeks old..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DerbyRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Friendly hosts, great breakfast, room was clean and tidy, spa warm and inviting. You won't go wrong here. Fabulous sleep in a comfy bed. Free communal internet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sariban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
5.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
6.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
5.1 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
6.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Lodge

Property: Redwood Lodge
Address: 222 Puketawai Rd | RD 6 Otorohanga, Otorohanga 3976, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten minutes from the famous Waitomo Caves, Redwood Lodge offers travelers affordable luxury in a tranquil setting. Redwood Lodge offers 4 good-sized heated/air conditioned, king/twin or queen en-suite rooms, each provided with tea/ coffee making facilities. Enjoy our eight acres of park-like grounds, guest lounge with TV, pool table and open log fire to warm your toes during the colder months. Relax in our hot spa, sauna or enjoy a cooling dip in our in-ground swimming pool before relaxing on the deck in the summer sun. With dinner available you can settle in for the night. After a good nights sleep wake up to a delicious and filling cooked or continental breakfast, homemade preserves are standard. Your hosts look forward to welcoming you into their home and if required, happily offering a wide range of information on the area in which they live. Discounts are given for multiple nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Redwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing