We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The grounds and the shared bathroom and kitchen were all very clean.
But have to say the cabin was so small and very basic, it is a 10ft x10 room with just a sink, no drawers a small table and a double bed with a bunk over it.
l have stayed in a few cabins before and have to say , this is by far the only one that has been so small.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hi. Thanks for your feedback which we appreciate. We are sorry your room did not meet your expectations and you felt it was not good value for money. The room you stayed in is our most basic accommodation. We do have larger rooms with additional facilites. And of course the pool, spa and showers are all free of charge. We hope you enjoyed everything else Waitomo had to offer despite not being satisfied with your accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 451 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here while enjoying the thrills of Waitomo. Centrally located and plenty of room available for our motorhome. Shared amenities were very clean. Showers were great. Owners very accommodating and helpful. If you're driving a motor home round NZ, get to Waitomo and this place was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hi. Thanks very much for your feedback. Your reviews suggest you had a great time while you were in Waitomo. It just shows Waitomo can be a great place even in winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our cabin was spacious, comfortable and well designed. The park was well maintained and the swimming pool a welcome diversion. Incredibly popular for motor homes - we watched it fill up as the afternoon wore on and, by morning, it was full. Easy to see why. The communal facilities were top grade - clean and well situated. A definite recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryF1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hi,
Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are a small park we do get a lot of morothomes coming through. The mix of nationalities who are on holiday and relaxing adds to what we think is a great ambience in the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a fairlysmall and quiet site with power and water provided. We used the communal BBQ. the showers and toilets were all very clean. Plenty of hot water available. This site is very handy when visiting the glow worm caves, about 600m away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonlodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hi. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Waitomo. We are fortunate our site is located close to all of Waitomo facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a powered site at the Top 10 Holiday Park and it was a fantastic park. The lady on reception was extremly helpful in answering any questions we fired at her. The facilities were very clean. highly recomend this park

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hi.Thanks for your comments which we very much appreciate. We are fortunate with the quality of our staff who enjoy helping make our customers very welcome and their stay enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked a cabin, with a double bed in the living area and a bunk bed in the bedroom. Everything was immaculately clean and tidy, including the communal showers/toilets. The playground had nice, well looked after equipment in including a trampoline which is a winner with our 3 year old! We also stayed her about 4 years ago using one of the campervan powered sites. We had plenty of space around us - not rammed in like some sites. Will go back if we ever make it back to NZ

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hi. Thanks for the positive feedback. Its great that you came back to stay with us and enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The staff were very welcoming and knowledgable. They suggested a free unmissable bush walk at the Ruakuri Scenic Reserve that our family really enjoyed. This park had clean facilities and was one of our favourites.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank WhitsundayMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hi. We're sorry for the delay in responding but appreciate the feedback you have provided for us. Yes the Ruakuri walkway is quite special. We recommend it to everyone and we always get very positive feedback about it. And its FREE!!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
89 reviews
0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 12 Waitomo Village Road | PO Box 32, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $70 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, beautifully landscaped park, right in the centre of Waitomo. Walk to the Glowworm Caves, restaurants, store and museum. Our accommodation includes fully self contained park motels ideal for couples or families, en-suite units perfect for couples, and deluxe cabins which are perfect for families or small groups. We also have great hard surface powered sites for motor homes and caravans and great nonpowered sites for tents. Park facilities include swimming pool, Hot tub (free), covered BBQ area, playground, trampoline, free WiFi (data limited), full laundry, communal bathrooms and kitchen/dining for campers and cabin clients and a full advisory and booking facility for any of Waitomo's fantastic activities. We are rated 4 star plus by Qualmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing