We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept, clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well kept, clean and convenient”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Of all the camping grounds we stayed at during the Rugby World Cup, this was easily one of the better ones. It was exceptionally well kept. The staff were knowledgable and friendly. It was centrally located in Waitomo Caves village. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    138
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
151
138
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Staff were very helpful. Basic accommodation, but that was all we paid for. A good base to work from, very clean and tidy facilities. Torches - for use at night time to go on free nature walks were available, and kitchen utensils available, with small bond. Enjoyed our stay. If needed they will book tours for you as well. If you are motorhoming around NZ, you may wish to pay $40 NZ for membership to the Top 10 Camping group. This will entitle you to a 10% discount on all accommodation booked at their parks in NZ and Australia.

Room Tip: Book in advance as they can quickly fill up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifeadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Me & my husband stayed at Waitomo Top 10 last weekend & stayed in an Ensuite Cabin. The cabin was brand new looking & clean throughout. The Bed was super comfortable, had a tv with freeview which was good, nice bathroom. We sat out on the deck and had a few beers - it was a nice outlook. Later on we wanted to see the glowworm caves but had forgotten our flashlights but luckily the reception lent them to you for free so that was a bonus. I looked at some of the other accomodation online & was glad we stayed here as it was the most central to the caves & accross the road from the bar & restaurants. We will reccomend you to our friends & will come back for another holiday soon. cheers

Room Tip: The cabins are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubagirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This holiday park is in a great location on the main street -very handy for cave or glowworm tours, a trip into Otoraohanga for the Kiwi House and other local sightseeing must-dos. Basic amenities but just what you'd expect at a holiday park. The staff were extremely helpful - confirming bookings for us, offering advice on the best tours and just generally good to deal with. You get what you pay for and this is cheap, handy accomodation with good but basic amenities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Very close to the caves, one of the smaller of the Top 10s. Convenient location - a few places to eat, including the excellent Huhu Restaurant next door - recommended.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlanLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We didn't have an opportunity to review this hotel online before booking. We had such a great experience at other holiday parks that we were not worried. Unfortunately this one did not meet our expectations. While there was a small pool and hot tub (which our 5-year old daughter enjoyed) the cabin that we stayed in was very dated, small and musty. While the location was perfect for our tour, we would not stay at this holiday park again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastfamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed one night in a budget cabin - which was ok - all we expected for 68$ per cabin. Cabin was clean, had double bed with one single bed over the double bed (which made us feel a bit claustrophobic), sink and tea/coffee making facilities. The communal toilets/showers/kitchen/BBQ were clean. The site was quiet and we got our rest. Good value for low budget travelers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Waitomo Farmstay
Waitomo Farmstay
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 12 Waitomo Village Road | PO Box 32, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern beautifully landscaped park right in the centre of Waitomo. Walk to the Glowworm Caves, restaurants, store and museum. Our accommodation includes fully self contained park motels ideal for couples or families, en-suite units perfect for couples, deluxe cabins which are perfect for families or small groups and Standard cabins, our budget accommodation. We also have great hard surface powered sites for motor homes and caravans and great nonpowered sites for tents. Park facilities include swimming pool, Hot spa (free), covered BBQ area, playground, trampolines, internet (wireless and kiosk), full laundry, communal bathrooms and kitchen/dining for campers and cabin clients and a full advisory and booking facility for Waitomo's activities. We are rated 4 star plus by Qualmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing