We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation in a handy location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation in a handy location.”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This holiday park is in a great location on the main street -very handy for cave or glowworm tours, a trip into Otoraohanga for the Kiwi House and other local sightseeing must-dos. Basic amenities but just what you'd expect at a holiday park. The staff were extremely helpful - confirming bookings for us, offering advice on the best tours and just generally good to deal with. You get what you pay for and this is cheap, handy accomodation with good but basic amenities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    137
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
151
137
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Very close to the caves, one of the smaller of the Top 10s. Convenient location - a few places to eat, including the excellent Huhu Restaurant next door - recommended.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlanLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We didn't have an opportunity to review this hotel online before booking. We had such a great experience at other holiday parks that we were not worried. Unfortunately this one did not meet our expectations. While there was a small pool and hot tub (which our 5-year old daughter enjoyed) the cabin that we stayed in was very dated, small and musty. While the location was perfect for our tour, we would not stay at this holiday park again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastfamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed one night in a budget cabin - which was ok - all we expected for 68$ per cabin. Cabin was clean, had double bed with one single bed over the double bed (which made us feel a bit claustrophobic), sink and tea/coffee making facilities. The communal toilets/showers/kitchen/BBQ were clean. The site was quiet and we got our rest. Good value for low budget travelers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Our family of four (kids 9 and 12) stayed here one night as our base for exploring the Waitomo Caves. It was a clean, spacious park with beautiful landscaping and pool/playground area.
The kids enjoyed those facilities - even though the pool was freezing in December ! and the fun bikes ($15 for an hour - but it was hard pedalling and there was no way they could have used them for one hour - maybe $5 for half an hour would have been a better option).

The place is difficult to find to0 - I am not sure what the problem is with the road numbering but Number 12 Waitomo Caves Road (their address) was not situated between no 8 and no 20 Waitomo Caves Road, but 8 km further along the road !! No signs either to say where it was! Had to ring and ask where it was - receptionist said that all GPS's take guests to the wrong location - maybe a map on booking or an explanation would avoid this annoying problem !!

The room was average - we had a park motel unit at $175 a night. There were bunk beds in one very small bedroom and a queen bed in the living area. It was not a practical layout as the dining table was positioned between the tv and small sofa so we had to move it to watch the tv! There was no where to put the luggage either - a small bench or luggage stand would have been welcomed. The kitchen area was functional but a very unpleasant chemical odour was in the kitchen cupboards. The kitchen sink and the bathroom sink were stainless steel and it felt a bit like a hospital or some other institution and no where to put toiletries at all - the floor got wet from the shower.
It was a quiet park but the rooms are close together and we heard the ranting of the women in the next cabin very clearly !!

Not overly impressed with reception staff - although not rude, not exactly welcoming and hospitable either ! We were misquoted the tariff a couple of times via email - if you give a quote you should honour it, not keep saying you had given the wrong price! A bit disorganized and uninterested was the feeling we got from the staff.

Tip - take your own groceries as there is no store (although one was due to open soon) - reception had limited, highly priced groceries on offer. We had lunch at the nextdoor Huhu cafe, but despite all the rave reviews we found it ordinary and overpriced. We can highly recommend the Spellbound Cave Tour though - absolutely excellent value for money and the best tour of our whole North Island holiday.

As there is limited accommodation at Waitomo, there is a captured market. You could definitely do worse, it was okay but it wasn't great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Very clean and tidy Holiday Park. Nice relaxing atmosphere.
Great amenities with plenty to do in surrounding area
Very pleasant / friendly staff and very helpful with all queries.
Enjoyable stay / Enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dymo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gingertaff
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed as a member of Top 10 Holiday parks at this site during our tour to New Zealand. The service we were provided with by the ladies who ran reception wad exceptional, the facilities were great and the site gorgeous - check out the tree at the rear of the site! It is the little things that make the difference like not charging for borrowing DVD, which is not the same for their equivalent in Rotorua. Our powered site was great and we enjoyed our stay, albeit brief, enormously. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingertaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Waitomo Farmstay
Waitomo Farmstay
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 12 Waitomo Village Road | PO Box 32, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern beautifully landscaped park right in the centre of Waitomo. Walk to the Glowworm Caves, restaurants, store and museum. Our accommodation includes fully self contained park motels ideal for couples or families, en-suite units perfect for couples, deluxe cabins which are perfect for families or small groups and Standard cabins, our budget accommodation. We also have great hard surface powered sites for motor homes and caravans and great nonpowered sites for tents. Park facilities include swimming pool, Hot spa (free), covered BBQ area, playground, trampolines, internet (wireless and kiosk), full laundry, communal bathrooms and kitchen/dining for campers and cabin clients and a full advisory and booking facility for Waitomo's activities. We are rated 4 star plus by Qualmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing