We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Afternoon sun looking towards Coromandel peninsula.Mount Kakepuku in foreground.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Afternoon sun looking towards Coromandel peninsula.Mount Kakepuku in foreground.
Beautiful night skies. Sunrise over Tongariro National Park.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Afternoon sun looking towards Coromandel peninsula.Mount Kakepuku in foreground.
Beautiful night skies.
Sunrise over Tongariro National Park.
Go to sleep to the crackling of a nice fire on a cold winter's night.
Queen bed in main area and two singles in open loft above.
Kitchen area with full size gas oven, gas bbq also for use on balcony.
Inside outside flow with french doors opening onto balcony.
Queen bed in main area.
Two single beds in open loft above main area.
Ensuite with bath,shower and washing machine.
Entrance to Rock Retreat.
Sunset arrival
Southern Skies
moody skies
Rustic charm.
Nestled in amongst native bush.
Hot Summer days at Rock Retreat.
Afternoon sun looking towards Mt Kakepuku and Maungatautari.
Sunsetting over the Hauturu hills.
Early morning wake up.Sunrise over Tongariro National Park.
Rocky sunsets.
Misty mountains below Mt Hauturu.
Nikau palm grove with Rock Retreat.
Limestone rock outcrops.Just a few of many that can be explored at Rock Retreat.
Beautiful walking tracks right at your doorstep.
Typical views from Rock Retreat.
Meet our black faced suffolk sheep.
Tongariro national park and Mt Doom!
Stubbs farm QEII covenant right on your doorstep.
Put your walking shoes on and enjoy.
Sunset over Tongariro National park
Sunrise.
Rock Retreat.
Sunrise over the rocks
Rocky limestone outcrops.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waitomo Caves, Waitomo District, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Anna R
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quaint with views to die for.”
Reviewed December 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely little cottage with amazing views. Simple and rustic but charming and super comfy beds.
Biddy was extremely helpful.
A small suggestion is to add a toaster. We couldn’t get oven to work despite instructions so ended up using frying pan which ruins the pan and the fire alarm kept going off as the kitchen is tiny.

I would have given this 5 stars if it wasn’t for the fact that I found your beautiful dog chained up with a collar so tight and uncomfortable she could hardly breathe. Chain pulled tight as it was tangled up around a pillar.
We are dog people and where I come from only some of the very poor and ignorant would chain their family member up like that.
Your dog was clearly well cared for so why not keep her in the house or make a pen in a shaded spot.
Left me with a really bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singap0re...
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed December 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had a really pleasant stay in this beautiful property. The cottage was lovingly built by the owners and it is really pretty and cosy, with a stunning view. The owners are helpful and yet respectful of our privacy.

We didn't miss the absence of TV or wifi a bit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awalsc2
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tranquility plus”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Our hosts Biddy and Rich have created a B&B with a twist. This little cottage (can hold 4 people), with old school fun and enjoyment. No TV and no internet. Wood fire to keep warm and very comfortable bed. You look out on a horizon of hills and valleys, vista’s galore. Breakfast supplies are provided. Close to waitomo and all the glow worms and caving.
Great location to enjoy tranquility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2017
Thanks for choosing Rock Retreat as part of your Waitomo experience.It was a pleasure hosting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell87...
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved every single bit of it! A cosy house with a nice flair! All the little lovely details to discover in the house, the great coffee and amazing hosts! We will be back on a sunny weekend and explore the area better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
So glad you enjoyed yourselves Isabell.We would love to host you again and show you more hidden gems around this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carly M
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection ”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Hey Biddy! Like typical twenty something's (very late twenties I might add) we didnt have a pen on us to write in the guest book. Rock Retreat is an absolute slice of heaven and I wish we had booked an extra night. It was so lovely to not have a tv and spend the night by the fire playing board games and laughing about our inability to guess NZ logos! We really want to find "Watties" on our adventures today! Thank you so much for the stunning view and the beautifully laid out cottage. We hope to come back someday with our son so he can enjoy it with us. Carly & Fred - the Far North Queensland Newlyweds x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thanks Carly.It is always a pleasure hosting people like yourselves who really appreciate the tranquil setting of Rock Retreat.We would love to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloss Lou...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Rock Retreat”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A stunning setting with a comfy home..certainly recommend itWe only had a short stay (wish it had been longer) Waitimo caves just down the road agsin worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Lovely meeting you and your family.Glad you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIESEL W
1 review
“Absolutely awesome!”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

If you are planning a trip to Waitomo or its surrounding area there is no better place than Rock Retreat to base yourself. The accommodation is a perfect mix of comfort and cuteness with the most amazing views. We absolutely loved our stay and the kids really enjoyed their lofty sleeping quarters. What really makes this stay fabulous though is the hosts - Biddy and Rich are friendly, helpful and respectful of your privacy. Our stay was truly absolutely awesome!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2017
Thanks Liesel.It was an absolute pleasure having you stay and thanks again for choosing Rock retreat as part of your waitomo experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing