We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small group; Personable; Dry; Comfortable 3.25 hr; Great Value”

Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our tours are friendly, informative and fun. With no more than 12 people on board, raft beneath many thousands of fabulous glowworms to see them at their very best. We visit private caves away from the regular, more commercial tours. Our caves are on a beautiful hill country farm and your guide is also your host, so expect a really enjoyable and memorable tour of our two magical caves.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
515 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Small group; Personable; Dry; Comfortable 3.25 hr; Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you are a tourist and travelling near the area... this is the way to go. We didn't know there were so many tour operators with such a diversity of offerings and quality. Spellbound offers only 12 person tours with 3 different guides, 4 times per day... each lasting 3.25 hours. This includes 2 caves each 45 minutes each. The first is glow worms and is amazing. first you walk (easy), then on a boat. They give your eyes time to adjust so you can really see the glow worms. Our guide was very personable and knowledgeable. Strongly recommend this is the way to go when considering the alternatives in Waitomo.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    112
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We were only in Waitomo for one day and our accomodation recommended Spellbound to see the glowworms. Good fun from start to finish... small groups, no more than 12 people! Informative, funny and entertaining for 3 hours, we saw 2 different ends of the same cave. A cup of tea/coffee/ chocolate & a funny chat was also included! A must do!!!

Helpful?
Thank nigelbrown2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable caving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very relaxing caving trip. It's about 3 hours round trip. The guide was friendly, comfortable, knowledgeable and very aware of local business. The bus is comfortable (and they have child seats if required). The glow worms are spectacular! The boat was great. There are no stairs, and very limited uneven ground.
I would recommend taking a photo of the 'fracture line' on the way there - it's pretty spectacular in photos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We did this tour a few weeks ago (note: after being booked months in advance) with our 2 small children (aged 1 and 2).
We were informed on arrival that due to the heavy rain the boat tour was cancelled. This cut the tour down quite a bit and unfortunately not the hefty price tag ($200 for myself, husband and 2 small children).
We were tempted to cancel right at the desk as we were greeted with rudeness and made to feel like an inconvenience because our children required car seats.

Luckily, our experience was made so much better once we left the office staff and started the tour. Our tour guide was funny, informative and made it worth it. We saw so many glowworms, a Moa skeleton, and learnt so much about the cave histories.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Char D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gentle but spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

If getting wet through whilst frightening yourself to death, this probably isn't the trip for you. For me (at mumble years old & lame to boot) it was perfect. Lots of glow worms. A gentle ride in an inflatable in the dark with only the "worms" to light the way. Very easy walking in cave 2 (v few gws but Moa bones for those interested in the extinct). All preceded & followed by a drive thru' lovely scenery. Thoughtful and knowledgeable guide. All in all excellent value for money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours also viewed

 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing