We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rumours are true...”

Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our tours are friendly, informative and fun. With no more than 12 people on board, raft beneath many thousands of fabulous glowworms to see them at their very best. We visit private caves away from the regular, more commercial tours. Our caves are on a beautiful hill country farm and your guide is also your host, so expect a really enjoyable and memorable tour of our two magical caves.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The rumours are true...”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Amazing tour, a must do for waitomo. Norm was a great guide, really knows his stuff. We also did a black water rafting trip with another company, which was great, but for glowworms this trip is a must-do. Can't recommend it highly enough!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KimAndLeighGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    113
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A very cool experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We picked this tour over the others because it was reviewed so highly and I completely understand why. It's worth spending the extra few dollars for this tour for the personal experience and the amount of information you learn. There were six of us total in our group, which meant we could ask all the questions we wanted and go at our own pace. Our guide Norm was so passionate about the caves and the area and he had tons of really interesting information. First we visited the glowworm cave, which was amazing. They put you in the raft and just let you float and watch the glowworms for what seems like hours (it was probably about 20 minutes in reality.) It was so relaxing to sit in silence with no sound except the water...which got a little scary as we drifted closer to the waterfall, but we were tethered so there was really no need to worry. It was amazing how much our eyes adjusted to the darkness in that time, he had us walk out of the cave without or torches on and we had no problems, it was really cool. After the wet cave we had our coffee/tea break, and then we went into the dry cave. While it doesn't have the glowworms, it is pretty cool to see the large cathedral (thanks for that info Norm!) and the moa remains. I feel like I learned a lot about caves, but also a lot about New Zealand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank aknoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent Cave Experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a perfect tour & good value for money. Our guide Norm was very knowlegable & entertaining. 11 people were in this tour group.

The tour included a 25 minute drive over stunning country side to reach the privately owned caves. A short walk on a delightful track with inquisitive sheep to keep us company was a great way to reach the caves.

We were kitted out with helmets, headlamps & given safety instructions before being led into the first cave. A very gentle raft ride in the cave in complete darkness soon revealed a stunning display of glow worms as our night vision kicked in.

A short stop for hot drinks & biscuits under shelter, gave the group a chance to chat & hear more of Norms local knowledge. There were also toilets available at this point.

The 2nd cave was interesting too, this time lighting within the cave meant we didn't require helmets. Norm continued to educate us as we walked well into the cave. Glow worms did not feature in this cave.

The tour was almost 3.5 hours & was environmentally sensitive. We were allowed to take photos within the caves. My husband & I chose this tour after reading many cave reviews on tripadvisor & were not disappointed. We highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank TMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous. A very special experience.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We were guided by Norm who was funny and a wealth of knowledge. We had 11 on our tour. Our experience was three hours long with bus transport to the two caves, great local history info, boat tour, hot drinks and biscuits and he made our kids feel very important. He even took a candle into the middle of the cave so we could sing happy birthday to my daughter. The pics they email you are great and Norm even took photos of us using our camera. Thank you so much for a wonderful time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank greganne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Took the tour on September 6th - 10:00 tour with Hop. I cannot say enough about this tour and 5 stars isn't enough to rate. Hop and the tour was amazing. He was one of the most professional and funny tour guides I have ever seen. He provided so much insight into the caves and the surrounding area. The caves were awesome - so many stars. We only had 6 in our group and it turned out to be perfect - making it so much more personal than the other tours that are available. No way did we ever feel rushed or felt like it was a tour that had been given so many times that they are tired of doing this - you get the feeling from the guide and the entire spellbound staff, that they enjoy and really care about you and the caves and environment. This is so refreshing to see. Would I go again? oh yea - but better still - I would encourage others to use Spellbound. Completely awesome, and I'm not one to write positive or negative reviews period, but the minute I got home I had to write this up...Thanks so much for the awesome tour!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours also viewed

 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing