We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent spot in Waitomo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2007

A cozy bed and breakfast located at the edge of Waitomo Village. Small but adequate rooms, oddly decorated (ours, the “Cave Room” had lots of fur everywhere and a glittery chocolate brown translucent fabric hanging over the bed like a frilly canopy) with very small bathrooms. Noise traveled very easily from room to room and from the floor above through our ceiling. Comfortable lounge with TV, DVD player and movies. We didn’t see much of the host couple -- helpful Helen was the more visible; husband John cooked the very satisfying breakfast. Unremarkable but decent and adequate accommodation in a village with few options.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 175 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2006

Despite there being several accommodation options in Waitomo the Abseil Inn is without doubt the best. The rooms are all spacious, clean and perfect for relaxing in. They are all themed, which sets it apart from your hotel chains etc. The owners are extremely friendly and cook a superb breakfast. It was the best we had during our three-week stay in New Zealand. Also worth mentioning are the views from the Abseil Inn. Its location on top of a hill means the views in all directions are simply stunning.
Overall i would highly recommend the Abseil Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ilaria_ppf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visionsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Der Cave-Room soll der kleinste sein, insofern würde ich ein anderes nehmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank schnewol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abseil Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abseil Breakfast Inn

Address: 709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $118 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abseil Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abseil Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abseil Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing