We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best spot in Waitomo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abseil Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitomo Caves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best spot in Waitomo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Helen and John are amazing hosts, and Nikki their daughter is a pleasure! NIkki is full of knowledge about the Waitomo excursions and can definitely suggest the bests ones to try out during your stay! The breakfast is amazing - the Waitomo eggs looks sooo good but I always go for John's french toast with the bacon or fruit! Plus, they have Canadian Maple Syrup which is always a bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    42
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
126
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Abseil Inn. Helen and John were very friendly and when we arrived Helen had already prepared a bag for us with towels, shower gel etc. to use after our black water caving trip - what excellent service! Breakfast was delicious and the range of honeys very impressive. The room was a decent size with a comfortable bed, and the views from the porch outside were superb. There is a lovely communal living area where guests can make tea and coffee and help themselves to the jars of biscuits! Location is great, with everything very close by. There is no need to worry about the steep drive - our small and not very powerful rental car managed fine! I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had the Farm and Bush Room. Some of the reviews mentioned a stair so we packed overnight bags in case our luggage are too heavy to move up the stairs. Turns out the two rooms are side by side on the ground floor and both rooms have two doors (one to the common corridor and one directly out to the porch)

Rooms are comfy and I love the wooden floor. Bathroom comes with full size bath gel, shampoo and conditioner. Plus working WIFI.

Breakfast choices are set out in a leaflet on the fridge. You just need to make your choices and put it back on the fridge before you retire for the night. We had bacon, eggs and omelette and they were delicious! Breakfast is also served with all sorts of spreads (including various honey and home made jams). I wished I had asked where did they bought the cashew butter spread as I couldn't find it in any of the supermarkets I went (and I'm already back in Singapore)...

Great views! Sunset in the evening plus sunrise in the morning (if you wake up early enough).

Great host! John helped us reserved a table in Huhu cafe. He also gave us a slight discount as our fourth member missed the flight and wasn't able to stay the night in the Inn.

Location is wonderful. It was our first day of driving in New Zealand and we're so glad that the Inn is very near to the Spellbound tour (which we joined earlier in the day) and Huhu cafe (where we had our dinner).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I usually prefer a large, modern hotel complete with bathrobes, room service etc etc, however I have to say that I really enjoyed our stay at the Abseil Inn and would definitely return.This B & B would be super cosy in winter as the warmth of the décor really lends itself to that cold climate feel.

The rooms are quaint, very clean and the hosts are welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is very generous and beds comfortable.

The driveway is very daunting but worth the trek. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaview088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very nice B&B very near to the waitomo caves. The house is a little bit noisy but the host are very friendly. Rasim got a special drink for his cold and it helps. Thank you so much. And the breakfast was fantastic. We never had before such a choice of honey....yam, yam. We enjoyed it to sit at the veranda watching the birds.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank btotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I normally am not a bed and breakfast fan. However, we wanted to try one while traveling through New Zealand and be close to our Spellbound Glow Worm Tour (also excellent). The price was reasonable and place adorable. The owners were charming and very helpful. The breakfast was one of my favorite meals the 2 weeks in NZ (order the Waitoma Eggs if you like Eggs Benedict)...very different flavor and Excellent! Their coffee was amazing too. The driveway is very steep but our Camry navigated it well. We (60's) walked down to the Huhu for dinner which was also very good and climbed up the driveway as well. Not sure if the driveway would be a problem in the winter though. However a unique experience while in Hobbit land.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This little guesthouse in Waitomo Caves village is outstanding. The rooms are charmingly furnished and decorated with a comfortable mattress and great water pressure in the shower. For breakfast, hosts John and Helen not only made every effort to ensure our time in the area was fun and interesting, but also treated to a fantastic breakfast featuring a smorgasbord of different New Zealand honeys, jams and curds. As if that wasn't enough the guesthouse sits atop a hill outside the village, providing a nice view and a good place to stargaze. Thoroughly excellent!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
1.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
8.2 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
4.9 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abseil Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abseil Breakfast Inn

Property: Abseil Breakfast Inn
Address: 709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Hotel Class:3 star — Abseil Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Abseil Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing