We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B with amazing views”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent one night at the Abseil B&B and it was a great refresher to all the highway miles and hotel stays. Felt like being at home. Fantastic views of the surrounding countryside and very comfortable. Also the best breakfast on our trip!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWtraveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    45
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
133
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The breakfast was fantastic. The bed and breakfast was great. We stayed in the Swamp Room, huge bath tub! There's a big living room with all kinds of things to do if you want to relax at the Inn. Best restaurant in town is across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJSColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Bush room. Comfortable size room with extra bed and nicely decorated (14m2) with shower room 3m2, but large shower. Tea, coffee in large eating, sitting and TV-dvd-reading room. Front side terrace along all these bedrooms are looking out over the parking or Waitomo village in the valley below ; nice place for sunset sun downer (when there are no cars parked in front of your nose).
Owners are living upstairs and provided information on the several activities you can do. We received towels for drying after the Black Abyss cave activities. Car fuel or ATM machines only in Otorohanga village, so make sure you fill up.
In this timber building you hear the neighbours when they are getting up; also the setting ready of the breakfast and related walking was well noticeable. Complete breakfast with about 10 types on honey and more you can eat.

Room Tip: Different rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Best location in Waitomo overlooking the surrounding grass covered limestone hills. Mostly thanks to its crazy steep driveway bringing you high above the village! The room was lovely with a door out onto the veranda allowing a great wake up in the morning whilst you drank your morning cup of coffee. Amazing breakfast made all the better by Johns massive collection and knowledge of Honey!! You will not need Lunch!! Helen and John have a great sense of humour and were a delight to meet. Oh and regards to the reviews that complain of "the noisy kitchen door" and "wooden floors", do not worry about them at all. We did not notice any noise from the floors and the kitchen door was only apparent once we had woken to the sound of our alarm clock.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

You get a hint that these folks have a good sense of humor. At the bottom of the very steep driveway there is a sign that says to approach the drive up with enthusiasm. This is our favorite type of lodging. Charming and pretty without being over fussy. We were treated so kindly by the owners and the breakfast is as wonderful as promised. At one point they brought out a tray with maybe a dozen local honeys on it for us to try. What a treat. The rooms are lovely and not fussy. View from the property is beautiful. There is a living room and diversions if you decide to spend the evening in. The owners are a delight and were helpful with directions and recommendations for our next stop in Taupo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicyclegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Loved our stay at this place - Helen and John are fantastic fun and great hosts! The rooms were lovely with amazing views over the caves. Great breakfasts too.we enjoyed chatting to the other guests over breakfast, and also enjoyed a beer sitting on the sunny veranda!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaH1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are a small bed and beakfast in a large, purpose built wooden house with 4 guest rooms. The rooms are themed and we take great pride in our breakfasts.

If you want the silence and luxury of a top class hotel, this is not it. If you want great hospitality, rooms with atmosphere, and an excellent breakfast of local produce then we look forward to meeting you.

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is not the place to stay if you want a good night's sleep. Because of the wooden floors and noisy plumbing you can hear every movement from the adjoining rooms and what is worse from the hosts upstairs. Unfortunately on the night we stayed they didn't settle until almost midnight. However the breakfast and location were great. You just have to be a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trifectaaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We apologise for your disturbed night and poor sleep.

We have taken a quick poll of the guests since the last review and the overwhelming consensus was do not cover the wooden floors as first the native timber floors are a thing of beauty, but secondly you can not join me in sock skating on carpet.

Soundproofing has been installed between the floors - we aim to avoid the plumbing after 9 pm. However we do need to enforce this occassionally on friends staying with us.

From mid April to late October the noise is not much of a problem as the number of guests we have means we can give you a quieter room.

However we do agree with the reviewer. If you are a light sleeper and want to be in bed early or get up late then we are probably not the best place to stay. If you have no problem sleeping and enjoy a great breakfast and great hospitality then we look forward to meeting yoiu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
83 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abseil Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abseil Breakfast Inn

Property: Abseil Breakfast Inn
Address: 709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Hotel Class:3 star — Abseil Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abseil Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abseil Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing