We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely B&B for a visit to the caves!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The Abseil Inn is one of the best B&Bs I have has the pleasure of staying in. A warm welcome and lovely hosts make the driveway worthwhile! The room was beautiful, we stayed in the swamp room with a double bath and a very comfortable bed. The owners have thought of every little detail, they gave us towels and shampoo for the cave trip, there were matches, candles and bubble bath for a dip afterwards. The B&B is on the top of a hill overlooking gorgeous countryside. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious with a surprisingly extensive selection of NZ honey. It's a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We were honoured that this lovely couple chose to stay with us for the first night of what we hope will be a long and happy marriage.
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 187 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

We live locally, and chose to stay here for our Wedding night. Tackle the driveway in first gear with your foot planted and don't let off until you get to the top!
What a gem of a place, great views and super friendly hosts.
We arrived a bit late but that was no problem, in the morning make your way to the dining room where you can have a great breakie, whilst chatting to the other guests.
Helen is "a hoot" absoutely lovely and entertaining.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very enjoyable and cosy BandB. Helen was really friendly and her lovely house was welcoming and homely. We had a relaxing stay here even though it was only one night. Breakfast was very good and we would recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junegregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our one night at the Abseil Inn was highlighted by an outstanding breakfast, get the french toast! Helen was very accommodating as a hostess and made us feel at home. The cute and comfy Inn is within easy walking distance of "town". We thought it was a good value for the money given the comfort, breakfast, location, and price. If we ever make it back, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njsparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

"Approve with enthusiasm", the sign tells you. Heed the advice, and put your car in first gear! Once you're up there, you'll find the lovely house of Helen and John.

Helen is a very bubbly and lively spirit, and a busy bee as well. The accommodation is great, inside and out. We had a great time sitting outside chatting up with other guests. That was very pleasant, and we stayed up way too long.

The room was the cutest room we ever had, and the bathroom was clean. In the morning you might find the B&B a bit noisy. It's all woodwork, and the flapping door in the kitchen isn't very quiet either. It didn't bother us though, we were awake anyway.

Breakfast is amazing! Do try the French toast, and try the huge variety of local honeys too!

We had a lovely stay here, and dearly recommend it. Make sure to ask for the cave room, if you want to meet the lovely mammoth that lives there! It's priceless!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Abseil Breakfast Inn. Helen was quite helpful. She provided me with a towel, bath products and carry bag to use after my cave tour. It was great because immediately after the cave tour I showered up at the facility. In addition she recommended a great dinner spot (Huhu) which I loved. The next morning all the guests were treated to a wonderful breakfast. I stayed a bit longer and Helen and I talked about New Zealand and her life. It was very nice to visit with a local. I was traveling solo so I enjoyed the company. Others said the rooms are loud but there is so much to do in New Zealand I wasn't expecting to sleep in anyway!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Wonderfully appointed rooms, great shared living areas with magazines, DVD's, cookies and honesty bar (with good beers and wines). Very nice view over the valley which can be viewed from the table and chairs outside each room, although I think all guests do worry if their old rentals will make it up the very steep driveway (they all do!).

Breakfast is truly awesome with enough options (and portions) to suit even the fussiest eaters/drinkers.

Only downside is the swinging door to the kitchen (v loud!) and the noise from walking on the timber floorboards limit your ability to sleep in late as its just a bit too noisy but we'd gone to bed early after taking up the hosts recommendation of dinner at HuHu so we weren't too bothered.

Hosts were very helpful with advice on which cave tours would best suit our needs.

All in all, a very nice stay but perhaps not the right place if you want to sleep in til late!

Room Tip: Something away from the kitchen is probably best if you want to sleep late on a Sunday morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Thanks for the review - captures well our good points and the noise echo as guests get up in the morning and traverse our native timber floor in the corridor and the dreaded fire door in the kitchen. No one hates the door more then me but my builder keeps insisting that we have to have it. He has plans to solidify the door between the guest lounge and the corridor which should cut down the noise drift from the kitchen door - but in the main our clientele do like to be up and into the adventures that Waitomo has to offer. Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
460 reviews
8.2 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abseil Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abseil Breakfast Inn

Address: 709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo District > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $128 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abseil Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Abseil Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abseil Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing