We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Abseil Breakfast Inn. Helen was quite helpful. She provided me with a towel, bath products and carry bag to use after my cave tour. It was great because immediately after the cave tour I showered up at the facility. In addition she recommended a great dinner spot (Huhu) which I loved. The next morning all the guests were treated to a wonderful breakfast. I stayed a bit longer and Helen and I talked about New Zealand and her life. It was very nice to visit with a local. I was traveling solo so I enjoyed the company. Others said the rooms are loud but there is so much to do in New Zealand I wasn't expecting to sleep in anyway!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 175 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

Wonderfully appointed rooms, great shared living areas with magazines, DVD's, cookies and honesty bar (with good beers and wines). Very nice view over the valley which can be viewed from the table and chairs outside each room, although I think all guests do worry if their old rentals will make it up the very steep driveway (they all do!).

Breakfast is truly awesome with enough options (and portions) to suit even the fussiest eaters/drinkers.

Only downside is the swinging door to the kitchen (v loud!) and the noise from walking on the timber floorboards limit your ability to sleep in late as its just a bit too noisy but we'd gone to bed early after taking up the hosts recommendation of dinner at HuHu so we weren't too bothered.

Hosts were very helpful with advice on which cave tours would best suit our needs.

All in all, a very nice stay but perhaps not the right place if you want to sleep in til late!

Room Tip: Something away from the kitchen is probably best if you want to sleep late on a Sunday morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Thanks for the review - captures well our good points and the noise echo as guests get up in the morning and traverse our native timber floor in the corridor and the dreaded fire door in the kitchen. No one hates the door more then me but my builder keeps insisting that we have to have it. He has plans to solidify the door between the guest lounge and the corridor which should cut down the noise drift from the kitchen door - but in the main our clientele do like to be up and into the adventures that Waitomo has to offer. Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

A very nice place to stay with stunning views. Lovely friendly, homely atomosphere, with lots of nice little extra touches.
Breakfast was the best we've had on our trip around New Zealand. Choice of several cereals, fresh fruit, with choice of cooked breakfast etc., not to mention a huge tray brought to us with the most fab choices of jams and 13 jars of honey to choose from!!! had to stop after the fourth. Also several choices of tea. Was amazed to be served leaf breakfast tea..... v.nice.
Helen and her husband were very friently towards us, wish we could have stayed longer. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were very impressed by the beatiful views and the room decoration upon arrival. The whole atmosphere was very nice. However, as we stayed some more time all positive feelings turned into disappointment. The whole house was horribly noisy in the morning and the female host was rude and not very friendly. Did not feel comfortable at all. There was also a problem with the sewerage which resulted in bad smell coming out of the bathroom.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We have a on site underground green treatment plant. Whilst this can cause the occasional whiff outside on the driveway when the associated section is spray irrigated, we have not had any complaints of this moving all the way back up the pipes. While noise was an initial factor in our reviews, we had subsequently had the upstairs floors replaced and extra insulation installed in the gap between floors.

We were closed over Xmas due to family staying with us, and had to turn some potential visitors away. If you can contact us directly it would help us better understand the problem and how we could remedy it.

Thanks
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home and comfortable. Helen was such a great host, we felt like she was an instant friend and loved chatting with her. She's hilarious! We'd arrived in Waitomo earlier than we expected without anything to do and her suggestions of a nearby bush walk and dinner at HuHu made our night! She drew us a map and everything.

And let's me honest, tales of "John's Big Breakfast" were the selling point for this Inn and we weren't disappointed! Everything was delicious and I particularly enjoyed the variety of local honey and jam to try. Yum!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahBeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Though the driveway was a little intimidating, and we thought our old rental car would not make it up the driveway (it did by the way, just put it in 1st!), this was a great place to stay. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, really close to Waitomo caves and Blackwater rafting.

The room we stayed in was the Cave room. It was delightful. I believe it is the cheapest room available and we were not disappointed. Very clean, the bathroom was small but who cares? And the bed was nicely decorated. Each room has a door to the porch and outside and their own key so you can come and go as you please. They have quite a collection of movies to choose from and we ended up watching one in the evening. Black Sheep - great sheep zombie movie!

The breakfast in the morning was superb. I had the french toast with berries and fresh cream and it was possibly the best homemade meal I have ever had. With the toast we got a multitude of honeys to choose from, and some other spreads (we liked the passionfruit urd so much, we went to the grocery and bought some to take home!). Plentiful coffee and teas whenever you like, and there are always biscuits available.

The only thing I would mention was that our hosts didn't necessarily chat us up during our stay like the website promised (with stories etc.), but I suppose the hostess was sick and wanted to leave us be.

Great place nonetheless, all rooms worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosaryLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Sorry you felt you missed out on what the hostess has to offer,but I did not think anyone would want what I had! Was tempted to take to overloaded sinuses with the power drill for a while there. Finally coming right now....Glad you enjoyed "Black Sheep", it is a hoot of a documentary.
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived unannounced late in the day, and fortunately there were rooms available. We were made very welcome - Helen is a great hostess - a real character. Our room was comfortable and cosy, thanks to the fan-heater and electric blanket - both very necessary on freezing Waitomo winter nights. A menu is provided for your choice of breakfast the following morning, and we had a choice of at least 14 different honeys to try on our toast, most of them local - delicious. The Abseil is situated about 600m from Waitomo village - easy walking distance to restaurants. And yes, the drive is steep, but only when you're going up. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abseil Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abseil Breakfast Inn

Address: 709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $118 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abseil Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abseil Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abseil Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing