We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$88
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
$103
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waitomo Orchard B&B(Waitomo Caves)
$68
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park(Waitomo Caves)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$82
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Waitomo Farmstay(Waitomo Caves)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
$80
$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waitomo Caves Hotel(Waitomo Caves)
$66
$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Paka(Waitomo Caves)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$53
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
110
52
17
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
52
17
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscave roomsteep drivewaynew zealandguest loungehosts johnbeer and wineother guestseggs and baconpassion fruit curdevening sunshared loungeentire staylarge tablehonesty barlow gearamazing french toastliving room
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 194 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2012

A very nice place to stay with stunning views. Lovely friendly, homely atomosphere, with lots of nice little extra touches.
Breakfast was the best we've had on our trip around New Zealand. Choice of several cereals, fresh fruit, with choice of cooked breakfast etc., not to mention a huge tray brought to us with the most fab choices of jams and 13 jars of honey to choose from!!! had to stop after the fourth. Also several choices of tea. Was amazed to be served leaf breakfast tea..... v.nice.
Helen and her husband were very friently towards us, wish we could have stayed longer. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: great value
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were very impressed by the beatiful views and the room decoration upon arrival. The whole atmosphere was very nice. However, as we stayed some more time all positive feelings turned into disappointment. The whole house was horribly noisy in the morning and the female host was rude and not very friendly. Did not feel comfortable at all. There was also a problem with the sewerage which resulted in bad smell coming out of the bathroom.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We have a on site underground green treatment plant. Whilst this can cause the occasional whiff outside on the driveway when the associated section is spray irrigated, we have not had any complaints of this moving all the way back up the pipes. While noise was an initial factor in our reviews, we had subsequently had the upstairs floors replaced and extra insulation installed in the gap between floors.

We were closed over Xmas due to family staying with us, and had to turn some potential visitors away. If you can contact us directly it would help us better understand the problem and how we could remedy it.

Thanks
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home and comfortable. Helen was such a great host, we felt like she was an instant friend and loved chatting with her. She's hilarious! We'd arrived in Waitomo earlier than we expected without anything to do and her suggestions of a nearby bush walk and dinner at HuHu made our night! She drew us a map and everything.

And let's me honest, tales of "John's Big Breakfast" were the selling point for this Inn and we weren't disappointed! Everything was delicious and I particularly enjoyed the variety of local honey and jam to try. Yum!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahBeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Though the driveway was a little intimidating, and we thought our old rental car would not make it up the driveway (it did by the way, just put it in 1st!), this was a great place to stay. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, really close to Waitomo caves and Blackwater rafting.

The room we stayed in was the Cave room. It was delightful. I believe it is the cheapest room available and we were not disappointed. Very clean, the bathroom was small but who cares? And the bed was nicely decorated. Each room has a door to the porch and outside and their own key so you can come and go as you please. They have quite a collection of movies to choose from and we ended up watching one in the evening. Black Sheep - great sheep zombie movie!

The breakfast in the morning was superb. I had the french toast with berries and fresh cream and it was possibly the best homemade meal I have ever had. With the toast we got a multitude of honeys to choose from, and some other spreads (we liked the passionfruit urd so much, we went to the grocery and bought some to take home!). Plentiful coffee and teas whenever you like, and there are always biscuits available.

The only thing I would mention was that our hosts didn't necessarily chat us up during our stay like the website promised (with stories etc.), but I suppose the hostess was sick and wanted to leave us be.

Great place nonetheless, all rooms worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosaryLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Sorry you felt you missed out on what the hostess has to offer,but I did not think anyone would want what I had! Was tempted to take to overloaded sinuses with the power drill for a while there. Finally coming right now....Glad you enjoyed "Black Sheep", it is a hoot of a documentary.
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived unannounced late in the day, and fortunately there were rooms available. We were made very welcome - Helen is a great hostess - a real character. Our room was comfortable and cosy, thanks to the fan-heater and electric blanket - both very necessary on freezing Waitomo winter nights. A menu is provided for your choice of breakfast the following morning, and we had a choice of at least 14 different honeys to try on our toast, most of them local - delicious. The Abseil is situated about 600m from Waitomo village - easy walking distance to restaurants. And yes, the drive is steep, but only when you're going up. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews