We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mmmm breakfast.”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Though the driveway was a little intimidating, and we thought our old rental car would not make it up the driveway (it did by the way, just put it in 1st!), this was a great place to stay. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, really close to Waitomo caves and Blackwater rafting.

The room we stayed in was the Cave room. It was delightful. I believe it is the cheapest room available and we were not disappointed. Very clean, the bathroom was small but who cares? And the bed was nicely decorated. Each room has a door to the porch and outside and their own key so you can come and go as you please. They have quite a collection of movies to choose from and we ended up watching one in the evening. Black Sheep - great sheep zombie movie!

The breakfast in the morning was superb. I had the french toast with berries and fresh cream and it was possibly the best homemade meal I have ever had. With the toast we got a multitude of honeys to choose from, and some other spreads (we liked the passionfruit urd so much, we went to the grocery and bought some to take home!). Plentiful coffee and teas whenever you like, and there are always biscuits available.

The only thing I would mention was that our hosts didn't necessarily chat us up during our stay like the website promised (with stories etc.), but I suppose the hostess was sick and wanted to leave us be.

Great place nonetheless, all rooms worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaryLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Sorry you felt you missed out on what the hostess has to offer,but I did not think anyone would want what I had! Was tempted to take to overloaded sinuses with the power drill for a while there. Finally coming right now....Glad you enjoyed "Black Sheep", it is a hoot of a documentary.
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    44
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
132
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived unannounced late in the day, and fortunately there were rooms available. We were made very welcome - Helen is a great hostess - a real character. Our room was comfortable and cosy, thanks to the fan-heater and electric blanket - both very necessary on freezing Waitomo winter nights. A menu is provided for your choice of breakfast the following morning, and we had a choice of at least 14 different honeys to try on our toast, most of them local - delicious. The Abseil is situated about 600m from Waitomo village - easy walking distance to restaurants. And yes, the drive is steep, but only when you're going up. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Wonderful start to our New Zealand vacation. Helen does a incredible job making sure your stay at Waitomo Caves will be a memorable experience. Our room was very nicely done, clean, and comfortable. Found Helen's advice to activities and dinner were right on mark. Delightful couple to visit with, then there's the breakfast......amazing! Think my wife tried all of the honey's in Helen's collection. Yes, the driveway might be a bit of a challenge, but needed some good exercise after the wonderful meals we had. Abseil Breakfast Inn is the perfect pairing to your "Waitomo Cave" experience in our view!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

There are a lot of positives about this place - great views from the bedrooms, a delicious breakfast, and friendly hosts. We were however disappointed by the noise level in the morning and the bathroom, which although clean was a little dated. A nice place to stay but not the best in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashpacker467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thanks for the comments.

Reviews of our Inn obviously vary. If want an establishment with great views, a great breakfast, a great hosting experience and rooms with X factor, and you like hanging around with other guests then that's us.

However we have a limitation. We are a small wooden establishment with floors of recycled native timber and other features which may cause problems, especially as other guests arise, for light sleepers as has been noted here and in 2 other reviews. We have received a report on mitigation of the noise problem and will be implementing it. However there are likely to be residual issues; so if you are quite sensitive to noise then we may not be the best place.

We have four rooms at different prices. We are confident that one of those rooms will be of exceptional value, whether it is the cave room - dubbed the "fun" room by many guests at $140, the farm room at $150 ( quieter with awesome views) or the romantic swamp room with its bath for two, at the Trip Advisor discounted price of $150 until October 2011.

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Small, purpose-built B&B with en-suite rooms and each with individual access from outside via veranda. Breakfast/ lounge with lots of books/ DVDs and big TV etc. Only 4 rooms, so not busy and meet other guests at breakfast (which was excellent). Wide selection of honeys from all over NZ too!
Very good local knowledge for Waitomo activities.
We would certainly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agb198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Rooms and facilities are very nice BUT there is NO soundproofing at all. We could hear the man staying next door to us snoring all night! Plus the wooden floors carry the noise from the hallway right into your bedroom. My partner and I had the worst nights sleep we had ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieandGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

“Approach with Enthusiasm” said the sign when we got to the bottom of the Abseil Inn’s driveways. We had read on their website they had “One of the steepest driveways in the world (but if Helen’s 14 year old car can do it, so can yours)”. And this alone was already worth it. Just a driveway, but somehow so much fun… Apparently, some rocket scientists visiting thought so, too! :-)

Helen welcomed us and showed us our room, which was nice and spacious. Not too big, but we had enough room to open two suitcases on the floor without jumping over them. The bathroom was pretty small (shower left, sink front, toilet right, with a sliding door), but as we were only there for one night it was nothing major, warm water and cleanliness all being provided.

Abseil Inn itself is a charming place with fantastic views over the Waitomo area. Although not right in the “town centre”, it is within walking distance (next to/on the road, but hardly any cars) which takes approx 10-20 minutes. We were told to dine before 6.30, and managed without problems. Having done the Tumu Tumu Toobing Cave Experience (brilliant, by the way) we were pretty shattered by the time we arrived at the Abseil in in the afternoon. After a quick pizza in “town” (it is very small) we crawled into bed very early not needing any evening entertainment. If you do plan to do something in the evening, there are bars and some places to eat in Waitomo, and the Abseil Inn offers books and dvds with a good variety of tea/coffee/biscuits in the guest room. Speaking of food: the breakfast was amazing – definitely try the French Toast if on offer. Especially if you have done any caving/toobing/rafting/abseiling or all together the day before you will appreciate both quality and quantity!

The Abseil Inn is definitely a great place to stay in. It’s close enough to Waitomo that you can leave the car there, the rooms have doors onto the patio, the views are amazing, food and entertainment are at hand and John & Helen made sure we had everything we needed – catering, information, advice and a homely feel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ame812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
378 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abseil Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abseil Breakfast Inn

Property: Abseil Breakfast Inn
Address: 709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Hotel Class:3 star — Abseil Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abseil Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abseil Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing