We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Te Tiro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitomo Caves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Tiro
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed here just for one night and we wish we could have stayed longer. We booked at last minute and Rachel was really lovely and friendly and gave us helpful directions on how to find the farm. Its about a 10-15 minute drive past the caves. Not too hard to find at all.

The view from the cottage is just beautiful. We were able to walk around and look at all the sheep and at night we took the head-torches and went to see the glow worms which are only a 2 minute walk from the cottage. Just spectacular to go down and see.

The cottage we stayed in was beautiful. Bed was comfortable and the cottage was warm with two portable heaters and an electric blanket. Breakfast is provided and the cottage has everything you need. Bathroom is separate but only around the back so not too far to walk at all.

They have two very cheeky cats, but they are very affectionate and so cute and soft!

The cottage has everything you need. Would love to stay here for a week or more and next time when we come back to NZ we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I cannot recommend Te Tiro enough! My boyfriend and I stayed here on our trip around NZ and it was by far the best place we stayed at (and it was only for 1 night)! We were given very clear instructions on how to find Te Tiro which were easy to follow, it certainly was tucked away. The cabin was very clean and we were very warmly welcomed by the owners. The breakfat that was provided was delicious and very fresh. Te Tiro also has some glowworms of their own, which were a few steps away from the cabin. The view over the hills were amazing, the whole place was very tranquill! We will definitely be returning here when we get back to NZ.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We were here for1-nite only on our way to Lake Taupo and Rotorua. We were driving at night to reach TeTiro n thought that we couldn't find it.! The drive was worth it. We all love the cabin n bathroom as most of the basic facilities are there. The most unforgettable thing of staying here is that the priceless n amazing view from the balcony. Another exciting xperience for us was exploring d glow worms just few min away from the cabin. U must not miss that!
Rachel was so friendly n we had a chat abt the place and some great info abt Waitomo. Tq for the great hospitality! We love Ratbag so much.. Wonderful cat!
Really recommend Te Tiro for great experience n view!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The place is hard to find unless you do some research before hand on google maps. We arrived late on a rainy night and managed to find it without much difficulty. The cabin was cosy, very clean and well appointed. The heater was already on to welcome us and breakfast was already delivered with bread/cereal and juice/milk/jams/butter/yoghurt/fruit in the fridge. We didn't get to meet our host due to our late arrival but we did meet her the next day at their tour company (Legendary blackwater rafting co.). We are grateful she made the extra effort of accommodating my partner on another tour when she could not complete the Black Odyssey tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles_K123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I had a great time staying at Te Tiro for one night in June! The tranquility was what drew us there but the views and glowworms had us mesmerized! Rachel was an excellent host and we will gladly be back in the future! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbiweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here in February. We were fortunate with the weather and got to see all the beautiful views and local scenery and also the stunning night sky. We cooked a meal in the evening and had everything available to do that. Breakfast was provided and plentiful. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The glowworms on site were a special treat and we loved that. Only met Angus as there was a family birthday that night, but he was friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to others who would enjoy the peace and quiet available here.

Room Tip: The cabin furthest from the gate has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here recently and had a great experience. The cabins are neat and clean and well furnished. The front deck has an awesome view down the mountain and into the valley. The in room breakfast items were good as well. Rachel was an excellent host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyhjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
5.0 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.3 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
8.4 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
8.3 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Tiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Tiro

Property: Te Tiro
Address: 970 Caves-Te Anga Rd, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing