We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Waitomo Caves Hotel(Waitomo Caves)
$71
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Paka(Waitomo Caves)
$61
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
$82
$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels(Otorohanga)(Great Value!)
$78
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
$78
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$74
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
358
167
17
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
167
17
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitsb bgreat hostsone nightacross the roadhuhu restaurantcontinental breakfastcommunal fridgethe main housenew zealandgreat place to staybeautiful flowersglow wormsmueslilaundry facilitiesroom was clean and comfortablea lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 549 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I followed other's review of this B&B and was so glad that I did. This is such a charming place to stay and the hosts were so helpful. The evening we checked in, our hosts directed us to some of the local restaurants for dinner and provided us with flashlights (torches in Kiwi) and a map so we could go see glow worms at a nearby cave on our own. If you stay here, I highly recommend driving out to the caves to look at glow worms. Our hosts drew us a map and we were able to find them, no problem.

The most charming part of this B & B is the gardens. They even have grape vines hanging above the entry-way to the main house. The rooms are actually separate from the main house, almost like trailers or portables. This gives you a bit more privacy. The rooms had all the basics: a shower, toilet, a bed and even an electric kettle to take tea in your room (the hosts provided tea bags and cookies). Not a huge room, but then again, you're probably not going to Waitomo to spend time in your room...

Like the name suggests, your stay includes breakfast, which is served in the main house. It was your basic Kiwi fare: muesli, yogurt, fruit and toast.

I definitely recommend this to stay if you are interested in going caving in Waitomo.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Janet and Colin were perfect hosts and we visited places we would not have known about. Small room, but lovely. Breakfast was very basic. Would have been nice to have something more that cereal and toast, such as maybe selection of bread rolls. The breakfast room is a lovely sunroom. We ate at Huhu which was amazing, I can really recommend the home made pavolva. Also Ra raft n Rock.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

There are only a few places to stay in Waitomo, and this is a good choice. Our unit had a private bath. The room was cramped with little room to walk around the furnishings; two full size beds, a very small round table, a cabinet with coffee and tea, TV. The full size and very nicely decorated bath was in an adjacent hallway. The beds were very soft. Breakfast (included) was served in the dining room of an adjacent building; toast, cereals, fruit, drinks. The very pleasant owners will chat you up and offer tips for outfitters and things to do. The property has a shared fridge and laundry area. The rooms are located up a very steep driveway, and there are narrow stairs and walkways, so be careful if you have a mobility challenge. Even though the property is right on the road, it was quiet. Very pretty landscaping.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our one night in one of Janet and Colin's cottages. They were very friendly and provided much information. The basic breakfast was in a nice sunroom and was a bonus for us. Our cottage was a bit tight on space, but nicely decorated and was sufficent for us. We appreciated being able to leave our luggage in the main house and borrow towels while we went black water rafting on check-out day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmhron78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was our first stop upon arriving in New Zealand. As soon as we checked in we spent an hour discussing all of our options with Janet and Colin. They know the area well, and can make recommendations for whatever it is you are interested in. I was particularly impressed that they have experienced most of the area attractions themselves, which says a lot because there are a ton of tours you can do.

Our room was the highest one on the hill. We had an awesome view of the surrounding country. Internet service is free, and if you left your laptop at home you can borrow theirs for a small fee. Next door there is a bar/restaurant that has a great lamb salad (and I suggest the chocolate mousse for dessert!) Breakfast in the moring is standard continental, with toast, jams, cereal, fruit and juice. Adequate.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a lot of rain when we were there (some good down pours), so ended up spending more time in the room than we would have liked. In all, this was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kterhark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews