We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, village centre position, good breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Andalucia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely view, village centre position, good breakfast.”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

A very pleasant place to stay, we had a room with a view with private outside sitting area. The house is just across the road from the Spellbound tours office and a very good restaurant without an outside terrace. Our bedroom wasn't big but for one night it was fine. The owner was very helpful and continental breakfast in the large dining room was sufficient for us.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andaluciantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    154
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
84
307
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This bed & breakfast came recommended by friends who were there last January, and it did not dissapoint.
The room had all requirements plus a great view. Not a huge room but great for a night or two. Janet and Colin made us very welcome in a relaxed and friendly manner. They gave great tips for getting the best out of our stay and were chatty but not intrusive.
Very convenient for the caves and lots of on site parking.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jluKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I had read many reviews on here about this guest lodge and I'm glad to say it was every bit as good as I expected it to be! Colin and Janet are two of the nicest people I've ver met-they are like walking tourist information boards and nothing is too much trouble!!! The rooms are lovely, very clean and the one we stayed in had a lovely view. Little touches like Colin's homemade biscuits being put in the room for you arriving make this place a true gem. Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty to choose from. I would highly recommend this guest lodge and would love to go back if we didn't live so far away!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed at this warm and inviting b and b on Christmas and Boxing Day. We found this b and b to be extremely hospitable and accommodating. The hosts, Colin and Jean, were very warm and enjoyable. We had a fantastic little room with a little bistro patio. It had more than enough room for the 3 of us. The room was clean and private and overall welcoming. The complimentary tea and coffee and homemade cookies available in the room upon arrival was a nice touch.
As we were there over Christmas, Colin and Jean invited us to their delicious and plentiful Christmas dinner that was all homemade! It was totally unexpected, but a wonderful surprise after our long drive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge was just what we needed. Colin and Janet were great hosts. The breakfast was wonderful, and all the flowers were an added bonus. Although the room was not large for a family of 3, we enjoyed our stay and would go back for a much longer stay. The Lodge is within walking distance of three good Pubs-eateries, and close to the caves.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuvaszfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

This place really exceeded our expectations. We got a really cute room with magnificent views of the beautiful countryside. The hosts were really friendly and they had the most beautiful flowers growing everywhere. This place also offers a pay washing machine/dryer for guests which was a godsend as we were down to our last few clean clothes.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femputer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2009

I have just stayed two nights here and it was fantastic. The rooms are neat and tidy. The bed was very comfortable with nice plump pillows. The "welcome book" has fantastic ideas for activities, food places and personal recommendations on each. The hosts, Colin and Janet are wonderful people and felt very comfortable talking with them. I would definately stay here again. Had a great time and would highly recommend others to stay here too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_hungry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi Paka Waitomo
Kiwi Paka Waitomo
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
385 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Property: Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing