We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place with good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little place with good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

This is a cute place right in the heart of Waitomo. Clean rooms with great view. Hosts are very nice and do little extras to ensure a pleasant stay. I would stay here again and recommend it.

Ed

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiethetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    148
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
81
297
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Colin & Janet are both very friendly and helpful. We learned quite a bit from them about Waitomo during our 2 nights stay! Will not hesitate to stay at their lodge should we visit Waitomo again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

The room was immaculate and cozy. We felt totally at home. There was also a beautiful garden to boot. Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely return if we visit NZ again. Janet and Colin, thank you so much for your hospitality =)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OOOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

We decided to visit the glowworm caves on the spur of the moment at then end of our trip so only booked one night... it was our first B&B in New Zealand and made us wish we had booked only B&B's .. Colin was the perfect host with lots of good ideas ... and the location was perfect - right across the street from a fabulous restaurant (Huhu) and the wonderful Spellbound tour of the caves... Colin's gardens are full of the most beautiful flowers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlamoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

We could only stay one night because of our schedule but would have happily stayed longer. Colin & Janet, the owners, could not have been more friendly & helpful. They gave us excellent advice about the cave options and told us about the free nighttime glowworm show on the walk near the Ruakuri Cave and then lent us a torch so we could do the walk. If you get to Waitomo do the walk in daylight first. It is well worth the effort. Then go back at night. The room we had was at the front corner as seen in all the photos. It was spotless, with all the extras (tea making, iron, hairdryer etc, plus free home cooked biscuits from Colin) and though not big it was perfectly adequate. The only theoretical downside was that the decking outside the large glass door was a communal area. We were given the loan of a laptop for free internet access. Great bonus point. There was plenty of parking just around the corner. Would we stay again. Yes, any time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyNonnyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge was the best place to stay-- we so enjoyed our two day stay in a lovely cabin with a deck and outside table and chairs -- right next to a bushed area with lovely birds singing. Our cabin was well equipped, lots of room, and very clean and even had some special treats. The gardens that surround the Guest Lodge are ever so beautiful with a vast variety of flowering plants... the most incredible roses! It is indeed a gardener's delight. The hosts of the Guest Lodge were awesome-- very welcoming and provided us with much knowledge and information about the area. They lead us to some beautiful walks and cave adventures. Our breakfast was great --- cereals, yohurt, toast, coffee, tea, various jams/honey, fresh fruit and much more. It was an absolute delight to stay at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge B&B. We highly recommend this accommodation to everyone!
Lois and Rick, from Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TovaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

Had the top room (of 8) with a great view. Colin and Janet (& Gypsy the dog) were excellent hosts who were willing to answer any question and make time for just idle chatter. Janet's garden was extensive for the size of the lot and quite beautiful, especially the roses. One of the two most relaxing stays in all of our New Zealand trip. Centrally located in this village (population - 40!) and only a 5 minute or less walk from all three restaurants. Make your reservation well in advance because with their reviews they are going to be full all summer - certainly were when we were there and we booked in June. Just be aware of the steep driveway and stairs to the highest room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Property: Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing