We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitability, friendly & helpful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Colin & Janet are both very friendly and helpful. We learned quite a bit from them about Waitomo during our 2 nights stay! Will not hesitate to stay at their lodge should we visit Waitomo again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 537 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

The room was immaculate and cozy. We felt totally at home. There was also a beautiful garden to boot. Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely return if we visit NZ again. Janet and Colin, thank you so much for your hospitality =)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OOOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We decided to visit the glowworm caves on the spur of the moment at then end of our trip so only booked one night... it was our first B&B in New Zealand and made us wish we had booked only B&B's .. Colin was the perfect host with lots of good ideas ... and the location was perfect - right across the street from a fabulous restaurant (Huhu) and the wonderful Spellbound tour of the caves... Colin's gardens are full of the most beautiful flowers.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlamoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We could only stay one night because of our schedule but would have happily stayed longer. Colin & Janet, the owners, could not have been more friendly & helpful. They gave us excellent advice about the cave options and told us about the free nighttime glowworm show on the walk near the Ruakuri Cave and then lent us a torch so we could do the walk. If you get to Waitomo do the walk in daylight first. It is well worth the effort. Then go back at night. The room we had was at the front corner as seen in all the photos. It was spotless, with all the extras (tea making, iron, hairdryer etc, plus free home cooked biscuits from Colin) and though not big it was perfectly adequate. The only theoretical downside was that the decking outside the large glass door was a communal area. We were given the loan of a laptop for free internet access. Great bonus point. There was plenty of parking just around the corner. Would we stay again. Yes, any time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeyNonnyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge was the best place to stay-- we so enjoyed our two day stay in a lovely cabin with a deck and outside table and chairs -- right next to a bushed area with lovely birds singing. Our cabin was well equipped, lots of room, and very clean and even had some special treats. The gardens that surround the Guest Lodge are ever so beautiful with a vast variety of flowering plants... the most incredible roses! It is indeed a gardener's delight. The hosts of the Guest Lodge were awesome-- very welcoming and provided us with much knowledge and information about the area. They lead us to some beautiful walks and cave adventures. Our breakfast was great --- cereals, yohurt, toast, coffee, tea, various jams/honey, fresh fruit and much more. It was an absolute delight to stay at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge B&B. We highly recommend this accommodation to everyone!
Lois and Rick, from Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TovaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Had the top room (of 8) with a great view. Colin and Janet (& Gypsy the dog) were excellent hosts who were willing to answer any question and make time for just idle chatter. Janet's garden was extensive for the size of the lot and quite beautiful, especially the roses. One of the two most relaxing stays in all of our New Zealand trip. Centrally located in this village (population - 40!) and only a 5 minute or less walk from all three restaurants. Make your reservation well in advance because with their reviews they are going to be full all summer - certainly were when we were there and we booked in June. Just be aware of the steep driveway and stairs to the highest room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Short stay but thoroughly enjoyable at excellent value. Colin and Janet are your guide to all that's good to see. Take their advice!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Abseil Breakfast Inn
#2 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $76 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned guest lodge Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Cafe and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside.Walk some of the local tracks to see the wonderful hills and countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing