We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts and brilliant close location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and brilliant close location”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our one night here. Our room was small, but I chose that when I booked, as we knew we'd be outdoors most of our time in Waitomo. Lovely gardens here and a friendly feeling thanks to Janet and Colin. Colin suggested the forest walk nearby, and I'm glad we did it as it was lovely. We did many cave tours in Waitomo (including backwater rafting) and loved them all! Wish we had stayed longer.
Breakfast was continental. Janet had a lot to chose from and kept offering more toast and croissants! Wi-fi wasn't working in our room but did in the dining room but I think they had just changed their modem and had a few teething problems- probably all sorted by now!
The restaurant directly across the road (HuHu) was recommended to us by Colin and it was great! Yummy fresh mains and deserts. We loved it so much we ate there again the next night.
Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
The small room at the back still has trouble with wifi connection, everywhere else is fine. (Looking at plan B!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    153
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
82
304
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great, charming place to stay in Waitomo. Gracious hosts and clean. We usually get a more hearty breakfast at B&B's as this was more of a continental breakfast, but filled us up for the morning. Bed was soft in Rm 10(?), but I like rock hard mattresses so I slept on the floor. I'll stay here again, and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeli5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for the review. We do advertise our breakfast as a 'Continental" one with toast, croissant, cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We got there late and the owners had a very large "note" for us written on a "mirror" with marker explaining where our room was and what time breakfast was. The room is a decent size although the furnishings take up the space where more of our luggage could go. It was a bit cold at night and it was nice to make tea and have some of Colin's Homemade Biscuits to eat before bedtime. The heating pads in the bed were a nice touch. The coffee at breakfast was probably the best I had in New Zealand and they also served some rhubarb fresh from their garden. The lodging was so quaint and lovely with all the flowers everywhere and a fruit/vegetable garden. Colin also gave us discounts to various tours at Waitomo Caves which saved us a lot of money and lent us towels for our tours even though we were checking out which was completely unexpected and greatly appreciated.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Waitomo. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent location, room and breakfast and Colin a really good host. Could not ask for more. A great place to explore waitomo and the fantastic glow worm caves from as the accommodation is right in the centre of the village. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LymingtonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for the review. We are in the centre of the village close to all the caves and eateries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent one night here as we travelled to the north of NZ North Island. Our room was very good, clean and spacious, the bathroom had an excellent shower. Janet and Colin were very approachable hosts, we even found out that we were University contemporaries. The accommodation has many extra, washing machines, fridges etc., the only thing that prevents me giving it an excellent was the adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks for the review. I tend to disagree with the breakfast being described as 'adequate' as do most of the guests who stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Situated in the heart of Waitomo village, the b and b ticked all the boxes for a very comfortable stay. We stayed in a room with its own verdandah overlooking the back garden with the view from the bedroom looking out across the valley and the b and b's lovely gardens. Colin was most helpful in recommending tours and we found his advice most helpful also in eating out options in the evening, would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for the review. Hopefully our advice will help our guests fully enjoy their stay in Waitomo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I chose Waitomo Caves BB based on the excellent reviews posted on Trip Advisor and was so pleased I made the right choice. We were spending 7nts exploring 3 areas in the Central part of the North Island and Waitomo was our first destination. Our other motel stays paled in comparison to the B&B. Waitomo is very,very small but incredible, only wished we had stayed 3 nights instead of 2. Our hosts, Janet and Colin were welcoming from the get go and provided so much info not only on Waitomo but also our other upcoming destinations. Their info is based on their own experiences and not second hand. The continental breakfast was satisfying and offered the fuel you need to start your day, I especially liked the number of condiments at the table like Nuttela, Vegemite, etc. Our room was immaculate, beautiful view, well equipped w/ hot water kettle, condiments, blow dryer, Colin's biscuits served flesh daily to your room. The ground are beautiful with flowers every where you look.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room and loved it. Really all the rooms seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Waitomo. There are lots of things you can do in this area, not just the caves, so many visitors are extending their stay to explore the amazing limestone countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
236 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
380 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
8.3 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Property: Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing