We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent one night here as we travelled to the north of NZ North Island. Our room was very good, clean and spacious, the bathroom had an excellent shower. Janet and Colin were very approachable hosts, we even found out that we were University contemporaries. The accommodation has many extra, washing machines, fridges etc., the only thing that prevents me giving it an excellent was the adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thanks for the review. I tend to disagree with the breakfast being described as 'adequate' as do most of the guests who stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 530 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Situated in the heart of Waitomo village, the b and b ticked all the boxes for a very comfortable stay. We stayed in a room with its own verdandah overlooking the back garden with the view from the bedroom looking out across the valley and the b and b's lovely gardens. Colin was most helpful in recommending tours and we found his advice most helpful also in eating out options in the evening, would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for the review. Hopefully our advice will help our guests fully enjoy their stay in Waitomo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I chose Waitomo Caves BB based on the excellent reviews posted on Trip Advisor and was so pleased I made the right choice. We were spending 7nts exploring 3 areas in the Central part of the North Island and Waitomo was our first destination. Our other motel stays paled in comparison to the B&B. Waitomo is very,very small but incredible, only wished we had stayed 3 nights instead of 2. Our hosts, Janet and Colin were welcoming from the get go and provided so much info not only on Waitomo but also our other upcoming destinations. Their info is based on their own experiences and not second hand. The continental breakfast was satisfying and offered the fuel you need to start your day, I especially liked the number of condiments at the table like Nuttela, Vegemite, etc. Our room was immaculate, beautiful view, well equipped w/ hot water kettle, condiments, blow dryer, Colin's biscuits served flesh daily to your room. The ground are beautiful with flowers every where you look.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room and loved it. Really all the rooms seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Waitomo. There are lots of things you can do in this area, not just the caves, so many visitors are extending their stay to explore the amazing limestone countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night so we could see the glow worm caves. Colin was very hospitable and helpful in providing information about what to see and where to eat in Waitomo.
This place is in the perfect location for touring this area, with all the main restaurants within 100m of the the lodge.
We found the accommodation extremely basic but comfortable, and the breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks for the review. I do not know what is meant by "the rooms are extremely basic". They all have new en-suite bathrooms with soft soap, shampoo and conditioner. All rooms have new flat screen TVs. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities with home made biscuits.
No, we are not a 5-star hotel because we are a B&B, but most guests appreciate the personal touch that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a great time staying with Colin and Janet at their cozy B&B. They were a really nice couple and the rooms were nice and quiet. We were right in the heart of Waitomo, only minutes away from the Discovery Center and the Ruakiri Cave. They provided flashlights and directions on how to do a free hike to see the glow worms after dark at the Ruakiri Cave park, only 5 minutes away by car, and a short 10 minute hike. They provided towels for our use when we went to the Blackwater Rafting tour, and let us leave our luggage there. It was a great way to be able to have a breakfast and then experience the 9am tour without having to drive a long way before doing so.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmlouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks for the review. Hopefully we will see you again, sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had the wonderful opportunity of staying with Colin and Janet at their guest lodge while visiting Waitomo in November 2013. The rooms/suites are beautiful and clean and the scenery surrounding their lodge is lovely. Our hosts went out of their way to recommend places to eat and visit while we were in the area. As we were traveling from overseas, Colin and Janet also facilitated our tour through the caves with Paul from Green Glow adventures-a tour well worth taking. I would highly recommend this lodge and will plan to stay their again when we return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyKeiraE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in Waitomo - everyone who goes to Greenglow loves it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed only 1 night with Janet & Colin (& Gypsy the dog!). Colin was so helpful in pointing us in the right direction for some hiking trails and making dinner reservations as well. The continental breakfast was lovely and the gardens around the lodge were beautiful. We had a large, clean room with a private little patio that was handy for a glass of wine after a hike. Have recommended to friends heading toward Waitomo in January.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedal_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thanks for the review. We do have all the information here so guests can plan their stay in Waitomo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
86 reviews
0 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Abseil Breakfast Inn
#2 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $73 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned guest lodge Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Cafe and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside.Walk some of the local tracks to see the wonderful hills and countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing