We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for better !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hospitality of the lovely owners of this B&B started when they supplied recommendations for driving from Auckland airport and continued right through our visit with them.
Arriving at the Lodge was more like catching up with old friends than checking in, we were given a warm welcome, lots of great advice and taken to our room which had spectacular views over the valley.
The breakfast provided was excellent, plenty of choice and good quality with some great discussions at breakfast and our hosts Janet and Colin as well as with other guests. The atmosphere Janet and Colin create here really is quite special.
They even provide a loan of torches so that you can take a night time stroll out to the nature walk and see the glow worms.
Not only would I recommend staying here, my wife and I will be staying here again the next time we come to new Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for the review. Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    146
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
80
291
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had planned to camp in a tent on our NZ trip but wanted a smooth start so we booked this venue. Very neat, clean and nice. Good breakfast and had a nice chat with the owners.
The booking procedure had been smooth and came with good advise about the caves. Can warmly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlopHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge on October 25, 2013. After a long drive from Rotorua we checked into this lovely B&B. Our studio room was in a separate building to the main house so it was very private and quiet. homes dotting the landscape. The view from the room was like being in the "Lord of the Rings" shire - green rolling hills with a few The owner checked us in very efficiently and gave us some great advise on where to go hiking and whereto eat. We chose to eat at a local co-op pizza pub and it was just what we were looking for - friendly staff, fun atmosphere and great pizza. After dinner we drove 15 minutes to a wonderful hiking trail and managed to see a fantastic display of glowworms in the forest. The rain had ended and with the long spring twilight it was a magical walk through this enchanting forest. Unforgettable! Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and we enjoyed our conversation with a couple from the Christchurch area who where there for a wedding. The next day we did a glow worm tour so the owner told u to leave our luggage and gave us some towels to take along with us. After the tour we dropped our the towels and picked up our luggage and headed to our next destination. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed the Waitomo experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very comfortable room with a spacious terrace, great views over the valley and a well tended garden around the property. Enjoyable continental breakfast. Centrally located in Waitomo with good access to the (limited) facilities of the village and the surrounding walks. Good shower. Very chatty, friendly host. Room and bathroom a bit small. Very small hand basin in bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the bathroom is small, hence the small hand basin. The deck outside the ranch slider makes this room very popular with travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

You could not do better in this tiny village than to stay here. Colin and Janet made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We were given room 1, the room with the best view - a sweeping view of the spectacular countryside. The room was clean, light and airy. We appreciated the private entrance to our room, a feature of all the rooms here. The colorful garden that surrounded the rooms made our comings and goings very special. Breakfast was very good and gave us a chance to have a pleasant chat with our hosts.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We hope you come and visit Waitomo again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is where we spent the last night of our five week trip in New Zealand before flying home. Colin greeted us warmly, provided information on restaurants, made a dinner reservation for us and showed us on a map where to find the glow-worms. Our room was right off the front deck so it was very convenient. There was even a table and chairs right outside our door where we enjoyed a glass of wine. Our room was comfortable. The bathroom was compact and had the smallest sink we experienced on our trip. It worked though so no real complaint. The room had tea and coffee making supplies and home made cookies. The bed was comfortable and we slept well for our last night. There is restaurant just across the street that was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for the review. Your room, #8, has the loverly balcony area which is great for sitting and wine-sipping in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a wonderful set up Colin and Janet have at the Guest Lodge! We only stayed one night but were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The lodge is lovely, well set up, very comfortable and has everything you could want and more. We were encouraged by our hosts to do the night glow worm walk which was amazing for the incredible night sky almost as much as the great glow worms! Not to be missed - the Lodge even provide torches for you to use!
The room was lovely and homely with tea, coffee and Colin's great homemade cookies and a lovely bathroom. We were able to use the excellent and reasonably priced laundry facilities which was great and the breakfast was a perfect start to the day, with chance to chat with Colin and Janet too about things to see on our journey south.
If you are looking for a room in the Waitomo area, definitely book here without thinking further!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good. We had the room at the top which had a lovely view and little balcony wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.9 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
6.0 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Property: Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing