We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in what they call the "honeymoon room" (which was fitting as we were on honeymoon), and the room was great, with a fantastic view. Colin and Janet were super friendly, and provided great advice on which tours, restaurants and walks we should do. If it wasn't for Colin, we wouldn't have done the amazing Raukuri walk, which was easily one of the best walks we did in NZ.

Room Tip: I think we were in room 5, the "honeymoon room", which has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your time in Waitomo. The Ruakuri bush walk is one of the nicest short walks in NZ - amazing what you can see in such a short 30 - 40 minute walk. The 'honeymoon room' is Room 3, by the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 536 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very gracious and welcoming hosts - very knowleagable about local resources. By far the best breakfast in our 3 weeks in NZ. Nice gardens, and quiet and peaceful. We stayed in room 7 and were warned that it was tiny. It was tiny with a tinier washroom. It was a converted shed and the décor reminded me of my grandparent's basement with cheap sheet panelling on the walls. I expect the room could also be hot in the Summer sun as well. We'd highly recommend you stay here, just not room 7. Very convenient to some local walks and the must-dine Huhu café, across the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. The room you stayed in, Room 6 by the way, is smaller than the other units and we charge accordingly. It costs just $105 a night including breakfast, whereas the larger rooms cost $135. It is not a converted shed. It is a cabin, and has never been a shed. It is a room with a bathroom, similar to a trailer home, but not so large. It is lined the same way all caravans and trailer homes are. A lot of our guests enjoy staying in this room because it is good value and very quiet away from the other rooms, with lovely views and a lot of bird life around in the surrounding trees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night and much appreciated the comfortable accommodation provided with the homemade biscuits courtesy of our hosts who were friendly and helpful in advising what to see and do whilst visiting NZ. The accommodation was on the ground floor of a two storey property separated from the hosts house where breakfast is served.. It is set in a well cared for beautiful garden with an abundance of wild birds. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueJH-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in 2 units at this guest lodge and were looked after so well. Janet and Colin were the most . hospitable proprietors imaginable. During our tour of NZ we stayed in "posher" and more expensive places but none beat Janet and Colin for friendliness and generosity of time and tips. They made our time in Waitomo so good.
The home made biscuits, the wonderful breakfast and all the ideas about where to eat!
The restaurant across the road is great and the BBQ at the general store good.
The Spellbound Glow worm caves tour was amazing and the short local trips Colin recommended were treasures.
Rooms were very clean and very comfortable and the garden lovely with ripe grapes eaten from the vine.

Room Tip: We stayed in first and second storey accommodation - both were good, though the upstairs may be diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliePBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your Waitomo experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this B&B! Our room was spotless and comfortable. As others have mentioned, the owners Janet and Colin are extremely friendly and helpful but we also felt like we had privacy so it was a great environment for us. The garden setting was nice - if you like waking up to birds chirping, this is the place for you! If that noise would bother you, keep that in mind too. We loved having screens on the windows - this was the only place we saw that in New Zealand. The free WIFI worked well for us. A generous continental breakfast was included and that was a good time to get advice about local attractions or connect with other guests if you wanted to.

We had booked the 7 hour epic lost world caving tour for the day after we arrived - we weren't sure how tired we'd be after that and we were very comfortable here, so we asked Janet and Colin if they had a room available the next night. They were able to juggle their reservations so we could stay in our room another night. We also appreciated that they lent us towels to take for our caving adventure.

We walked next door for dinner at the pizza place, which was good and convenient. If we had more time and energy we would've enjoyed taking one of the recommended walks. We would definitely recommend this spot to others for an optimal small town B&B experience! We were lucky that we booked it a day ahead of time in busy travel season... you should think about booking early because it sounds like they often fill up!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks for the review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to stay on for the extra night. Two nights is a good idea if you are doing one of the adventure trips. It is always a good idea to book early during the summer season as most places, like us, are very busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were late arrivals due to getting lost. But there was Janet waiting with the light on for us and a warm welcome. Straight away we knew this family was in this industry for love and not just for the money.
The room size was perfect for us and we could not have wished for a better position. Just a couple of steps to the door leading to breakfast.
The beds were super comfy and we both crashed as soon as our head hit the even comfier pillows.
Janet had prebooked our glow worm tour which we are forever grateful for. The breakfast in the morning was more than we had hoped for and the array of teas was a real treat. Janet joined us for a chat along with the other guests and it was a great way to start our day. The only down side is that we didn't get to spend a second night... there is always next time.
To wake to the sound of light rain fall and a bird whistle was just the perfect way to wake up. It wasn't until we were ready to leave that we discovered Colin's home made cookies. Delicious.
You can't go wrong staying here. If you want a comfy bed, peacful nights, breakky on the deck (weather permitting) and friendly hosts then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, it was positioned perfectly for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 06magoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks for the review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we'll see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We planned our trip to Waitomo at the last minute and I found this B&B through tripadvisor reviews. The stay was fine. Our room was part of the house and there was quite a bit of noise in the evening but things quieted down around 2200. We had a room with a queen and single bed and we had enough space to move around - I did find the queen bed a little soft for my taste. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise as there was a separate tub and shower. The hosts offer flashlights in order to take a stroll around the outside of Rurakuri Cave at night in order to see the Glow Worms there. That is a very nice touch. They also sent us to Rurakuri during the daylight so we could take a leisurely stroll around the area. We were fortunate to be there in summer when the grape arbor was covered with ripe grapes - the smell was intoxicating. There is a washer and dryer and nice size refrigerator available for guests use. Breakfast was a simple affair with breads, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. It was enough to get us going for the day. The price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks for the review. I cannot understand the noise till 10pm. Traffic in the village stops about 6 and there is virtually no foot traffic. Our guests tend to be on the quiet side and since the local pub burnt down there are few late-birds around.
We will never get one bed that would suit all tastes as far as softness goes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
447 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Abseil Breakfast Inn
#2 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $75 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned guest lodge Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Cafe and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside.Walk some of the local tracks to see the wonderful hills and countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing