We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it just for the Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth it just for the Breakfast!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Best place on the north island. The rooms are vey comfy. Lives up to all its expectations. The owner was so friendly and puts on a great spread for breakfast, overlooking the green waitomo countryside. Do yourself a favour and stay here. Curlys bar is more than suffice to pick up a heart meal after an exhausting day caving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for the review. I often wonder why a lot of travelers stay in a motel, and pay more, when they can go to a B&B and meet, if they want to, other travelers over breakfast.
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    153
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
82
304
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed one night with the family, booked 2 'cabins'. Went on the 'Spellbound' cave tour which was awesome. (and cheaper than the other one) Nicely decorated and very clean, well kept. Bit different for B&B, like the whole back yard had different cabins on it nestled amonst the garden. Nice and quiet and great breakfast. Only small downside was having to lug your bags uphill and stairs. Right in the centre of Waitomo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobiTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thanks for the review. I agree that the downside is steps to the rooms, but the upside is the great views one gets over the garden and surrounding countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Everything excellent!!! Owners are just the best..makes you feel right at home. Helped us with our caving plans and trip route. Great location....caving very expensive but what a rush!! Limited places to eat so you may want to pack something....hope to do again one day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbe1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Waitomo. There is always plenty to do here. There are a variety of eating places to choose from, but the supermarket is not that far away if you want to 'do your own thing'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Needed a nice place to stay for 2 nights in Waitomo as we were doing the 7 Hour Epic Tour at the Waitomo Caves. Janet and Colin were very helpful and very friendly and the place was super cozy, clean and welcoming. Felt right at home and will definitely stay there again if ever in the Waitomo region! :) Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We're glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, it was comfortable, breakfast was good and Colin and Janet were very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holland1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We do try to have satisfied guests.
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

One of the best places we stayed in NZ back in January - sorry it has taken so long to review.
Comfy and well appointed room with lovely views and a charming site with flowers at every turn.
Hosts very helpful in suggesting an evening walk and in making a table booking for us. Excellent restaurant across the road and also the pick up point for the wonderful glow worm tour we did. Only sorry we were only able to stay one night.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We also think we give the best valued accommodation in NZ. Guests really do need two nights in Waitomo to make the most of the immediate area.
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Situated in a very convenient central place close to the attractions and eateries/cafes. Rooms and facilities are in excellent condition. Bedding is so comfortable with electric heating blankets. Both Janet and Colin are so helpful and always with a smile on their face. They know a lot about the activities in Waitomo because they have done most of them. The advice they gave was spot on and very helpful. And I will never forget Colin’s homemade biscuits. They are yummy +++ Probably the first thing that would remind me when thinking about this place :) The breakfast is awesome and can enjoy breakfast with a stunning view of the landscape around!!! Would definitely come back and will recommend to anyone without any hesitation. Thank you Janet and Colin!!!

Regards
Ranmal

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thanks for the review. I'll have to go into production with the biscuits!!
Hopefully it won't be too long before you visit again.

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
237 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
380 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
8.3 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Property: Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing