We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked this online and my partner was very excited to be staying in a grand old hotel. Unfortunetly there was nothing grand about it. The hotel has so much potential with a great location and could be great for weddings or high tea but as it has been left to rot this is far from being possible. Our room had wallpaper coming off and paint off the ceilings. Power sockets were faulty and just about blew me and my straightners up. The tv turned off and wouldnt turn back on. Fridge was very noisy all night. Room was very run down and ridiculously over priced. The worst was in the morning when my partner flushed the toilet and scuddy toilet water and excrement came up the shower drain. We were booked for 2 nights but left after that final incident. Worst hotel experience we have ever had. And the young girl at reception didnt believe us or really care. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 29Kylie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 583 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were looking forward to returning to this Grand Old Lady but it wasn't as memorable this time. Bed was comfy, loved having a bath, it's a great old hotel, but in need of much tlc. We will no doubt return again as we love the character of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank joken630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were looking forward to our stay at Waitomo Caves Hotel. We were fully aware that it is being renovated, its haunted history (check out room 12A), and 1960's updates. We arrived late due to driving in the rain on the way from Hawk'e Bay. We called ahead to ask about dinner and were told they were not serving and that we would have to bring something in from town. It turns out their was a bar at the base of the hill and we could have eaten there. We brought in carry out food and ate in the dining/bar area. We played a few cards and at 8:45 we were told the bar area was closing. There were only 2 couples in the entire hotel and we were the only ones in the bar. We went to our room - which is basic without 2 chairs and finished our game. The place felt creepy and run down. We wish the new management the best and hope it improves. It will take a lot of money and a lot of guests to make this place work.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Loved our stay here, the staff, or more precisely Jane, gave a great visitor experience, the rooms are old and tired but the beds were good and you just felt you were somewhere special.

I finished the night off reading the paper in front of a lovely open fire with one or two rums from the bar.

The Hotel has new managers and their plans are to turn this into something truly special again, we will definitely be back to stay again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different, we took a room that could accommodate a family, the roo below us had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is a grand old hotel in need of some love and care. Fortunately new owners have recently taken over and seem to have the right stuff.
Loaded with history and charm, great location and (via Grabone) good value for $.
We look forward to returning to try the proposed seafood restaurant and general improvements

And for the record: paranormally disappointing ;-)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Curtjoyfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

went down for a weekend break away, nice old hotel was the former HTC, slowly being done up but no noise when there., central to most places there, up the hill so a nice view down onto most other places, caves are just a wee stroll down the road.
Only trouble was no dinner that night due to the AB's playing , so a good feed of fish and chips , wine in front of the open fire was had.
be nice once all done.

Room Tip: the turret looked a great room to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently (in winter) and I enjoyed it.I accept though though that its air of faded majesty may not suit many who prefer conveniences over character however the the hotel does have a bar, an open fire, and does dinner and brekkie.
Our group enjoyed the space and the service from the staff. While the the meals were not gourmet the produce was good quality and they were well prepared. So yes the rooms are clean and the beds comfy but the fittings (or the layout) are not modern so if you're not keen on older quirky accommodation then try having dinner or brekkie there OR if you haven't booked something (hey... we were there in winter) ASK to see the room first. You might just love it.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Phill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
194 reviews
4 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
460 reviews
4 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | Rd7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo District > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $77 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Caves Hotel provides a taste of the early 19th Century grand tour hotel experience in our own time. Majestically positioned on a promontory above the Waitomo village and the world famous Waitomo caves the hotel offers sweeping views across the lush farmland, the hills and bush of the King Country. The hotel boasts sparkling crystal chandeliers, a vast art collection, spacious clean rooms, deliciously comfortable beds and a decadent spa area. Stay with us and experience the elegance of travel from a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing