We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Waitomo caves it a horrible hotel it feels haunted and freaky and the staff are very rude!!
They offer you so called 'deals' and once you buy them they never follow through, they are just there to make money and not to please customers. I HIGHLY recommend people NOT to go here.

Room Tip: dont go there
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurahead2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Waitomo Caves Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 533 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed for one night at the beginning of a 4 week road trip round New Zealand. Arrived at 6pm having travelled by plane & car for 36 hours so didn't see too much of the hotel & were asleep within 15 minutes of checking in. From the areas I saw I would agree with other comments about the need for some refurbishment especially in the breakfast area which looked very tired. Our room was very spacious and the peace and quiet at 6.30am the following morning was wonderful. Not the worst accommodation we stayed in but by no means the best.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What an amazing place to stay. The building is absolutely beautiful and worth spending some time exploring. I needed a second hand to count the number of different patterns in the main bathroom and the rooms had a charm to them. The staff were friendly, if a little over worked and under staffed. The fire in the sitting room was always warm and dinner was amazing with some well matched wines.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDebarcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was raining so much all the caves were flooded out so we settled into the Waitomo Caves Hotel for the night and just enjoyed the olde worlde grandeur of the place. We loved the the big room, dinner, crackling fire and piano, breakfast and the gardens. Fawlty Towers it ain't! Far from it - Jazz offered us a good rate and looked after us a treat. He's a character! My young daughter was fascinated in a scaredy sort of way because someone had said the place was haunted but we didn't see/hear anything. Would definitely recommend this hotel for something just a little bit different from the brand new, all the same, hotels.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which had its own entrance and balcony
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedSec48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We love guests like you who truly appreciate the very cleqar qualities and charms of this old style hotel; and it is only going to get better. We look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A wondeful old historic hotel.....spotlessly clean....quaint, almost original decor !! Currently undergoing a refit....a tip - we were shown the turret room.....will definately ask for that next time.(looks very romantic). The hotel is in the most superb location commanding views over the whole area....
While there a visit to the Footwhistle Cave ( only opened two years ago) is a must....but go at dusk..the glow worms on your return up the ferny cavern are superb!!!

Room Tip: We didn't stay in it - only were shown it when leaving - but the turret room looks fantastic...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseDPaekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've been to the hotel before and note that within the apparent lack of funding, the hotel is gradually but noticeably rearing her lovely old head out of the quagmire which seems to have surrounded it in the last few years. I noticed that improvements are quietly emerging under the loving guidance of the current manager, the grounds are looking tidier and the rooms cleaner. This alone however, wont suffice ! She needs refurbishing on a grand scale in order to regain the splendor she once knew or else the old Waitomo Caves Hotel will disappear forever, I fear.
My recent stay with friends over the queens birthday weekend however was fun, and after chatting with some of the staff, I look forward with relish to announcements of eminent improvements in the decor of this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 503kiwibloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Would not recommend at all. This hotel under the THC banner was something special 30 years ago... the hotel and restaurant is now an embarrassement. The food was poor, overpriced and the service average mainly due to the shambles in the kitchen. This establishment has a lot to learn about customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Oh dear - yet another Faulty towers review, and we were doing so well!

I just wish the reveiwe was more factual and more helpful appraisal for prospective guests but unfortunately it is just another shot across the bow in anger an irritation.

I completely get that this guest was not happy with us and I am sorry for that - we however never heard a single word of dissatisfaction from him during his stay so it is hard to remedy his issues.

I think that this review needs to be read in the context of recent reviews on Trip Advisor - which provide a completely different perspective. Don't belive me ( I am biased), come and see for yoorself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
521 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
393 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
91 reviews
8.5 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $61 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Caves Hotel provides a taste of the early 19th Century grand tour hotel experience in our own time. Majestically positioned on a promontory above the Waitomo village and the world famous Waitomo caves the hotel offers sweeping views across the lush farmland, the hills and bush of the King Country. The hotel boasts sparkling crystal chandeliers, a vast art collection, spacious clean rooms, deliciously comfortable beds and a decadent spa area. Stay with us and experience the elegance of travel from a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing