We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms could use an update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed November 12, 2011

But keep the old-fashioned decor! I love this place. Hubby and I have stayed a few times over the years, staying in different rooms. A basic room for $99/n over winter sure isn't bad. The rooms have always been clean, and the dinners have always been wonderful! Staff has always been welcoming and helpful. A coat of paint and new wallpaper, etc. would go a long way, tho.

My robe liked it there so much that it stayed! Travel hint: never lay a white robe on white sheets when you are packing in a hurry, lol.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite that Sir David Attenborough stayed in during his visit. Best "room" we...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineV48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Waitomo Caves Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 533 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

What an extraordinary place.

The main part of the hotel was built over 100 years ago and it shows, But if you can put up with uneven floors, creaky doors and dark hallways, you'll love the feeling of history all around you. Sure it's a bit scary at night (the locals call it 'the haunted hotel') but don't be put off by this... with a little imagination you'll think you've stepped back to the gay times of the 1920's.

Our room was comfortable enough, with a great view over the valley - and apart from the telly, everything worked as it should.

Warning: There is no lift so you will need to carry your bags up a long flight of stairs and I mean long.Mind you the clerk (Dirk) was very helpful in this regard.

If you want shiny and modern don't stay here! But if you want a glimpse of the past it's right here,

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A nice hotel at the top of the hill with plenty of rooms and good quality AND plenty of ghost stories to go round. Agreed a deal after arriving late a was very pleased with the cleanliness, value and relaxing atmosphere at the hotel - breakfast was a little sparse but the rest of the food looked good - would recommend but do ask for a deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Although the building is old and dated I had a great time. I really love old buildings.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Necronomicon6k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed one night as a package deal. The hotel is run down but I would imagine they would need a ton of money to restore it. The meals at the restaurant definately made up for it. I would reccomend it to anyone staying in Waitomo. We had the scallops and prawns as entrees and the lamb shank and fetticine as mains. All meals were excellent.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank morris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Excellent service from all staff. Hotel is a bit old and tired. Need updating. However, all the staff were helpful, and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washing1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

One or two negative writeups you can ignore. I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times and can vouch for it 100%. You will want to ask for the corner rooms, as these have the most character, and are configured differently. This place oozes history, discovery and romance. The hotel commands the hill overlooking the township, and its rear looks over the original Waitomo Caves facility. The staff, and in particular Charrisse reminded one of how hotels are supposed to be, and what service really is in hospitality, played down too much by the 'happy go lucky' feel of a lot of NZ establishments. Dining is quiet and unhurried, allowing for contemplating the gallery of black and white images recounting the history of the grand old building and the discovery of the caves.
Altogether commendable for all. And this comes from someone involved in hospitality marketing. Donot hesitate to contact me for hints on room numbers.
robert at islandtravelmarketing dot com
maikhao at islandtravelmarketing dot com

Room Tip: You will want to ask about each of the corner rooms. The honeymoon suite you should also look at.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedi1gree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
521 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
394 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
91 reviews
8.5 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $61 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Caves Hotel provides a taste of the early 19th Century grand tour hotel experience in our own time. Majestically positioned on a promontory above the Waitomo village and the world famous Waitomo caves the hotel offers sweeping views across the lush farmland, the hills and bush of the King Country. The hotel boasts sparkling crystal chandeliers, a vast art collection, spacious clean rooms, deliciously comfortable beds and a decadent spa area. Stay with us and experience the elegance of travel from a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing