We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable”
Review of Kiwi Paka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kiwi Paka
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We paid $110.00 for a double chalet unit with ensuite for a one night stay. The accommodation was spacious, clean and had a pleasant outlook. The TV was tiny though and the ensuite included a basic shower and sink, no bath. Kiwi Paka is located conveniently close to the caves, activities and restaurants and was a good place to stay for the evening. There was a game room and cafe which we did not use. There was a small hiccup with our check in. We booked the room a month ahead via BookIt online, however they had not forwarded the booking or payment to Kiwi Paka. Luckily the place was not full the staff were able to fix this error however it did cause us some stress.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35Elspeth_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Travelling with my two children and mother. Travel agent booked 2 nights at paka. I had concerns being a backpackers. Was told we would have kitchenette to do own cooking etc.. On arrival was told our room was cancelled eventhough i held the booking in my hand. They could only accomodate us for the one night. Looked at room and was shocked! the ONLY furniture was a double bed that didnt even fit the base (Queen) and the 2 single beds upstairs. No where to even put your toothbrush. No tea or coffee facilities but the worst of it was the bed looked as it had just been made from the previous occupants. I highly doubt the linen was clean. Found other accom for both nights. Had dinner there as we arrived late after a most stressful day. Service was slow and ordinary.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkerr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night whilst on tour and found it nice, clean and quiet. The rooms were comfortable and a decent size.

The food at the restaurant was good quality, and the staff were all very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noosag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I went with a group of friends. The dorms that sleep four were a great option for us- we had the whole room for ourselves. We only stayed one night but we found it very clean and organized. It was also very quiet. The room was spacious and very comfortable. It was well located, within walking distance of cafes, restaurants an the most touristy caves. Overall, a good experience at a reasonable price

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for one night as part of a coach tour. We were housed in the chalet type buildings opposite the main building. These housed 4 people (2 upstairs and 2 down in single beds, not bunkbeds) and came with a toilet and shower room. Considering we visited in the winter, the chalets were warm and a nice break from dorms and compact hotel rooms.

Unfortunately the bed linen wasn’t the cleanest and the pillows were awful, but I ended up having a decent nights sleep. There was a queue for a shower in the morning and the shower wasn’t particularly warm or powerful which was a shame.

We were provided with dinner when we arrived which was fantastic. We had a very filling roast dinner with mountains of veg and a decent dessert. Not much to do in the local area at night except for Curly’s which has unfortunately burnt down since we visited. Breakfast was good too.
Useful location for exploring the caves and the local attractions provided transport from the accommodation.

Having also stayed at the YHA a little further out of the village earlier in the year, I would say that I much preferred my stay here despite pillow and shower issues!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank CadburysFlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Open checking in with a coach load of travellers the friendly staff advised us where all the different facilities were, there checking in process was also very quick considering! The four bed dorms are clean with plenty of room and even better no bunk beds. The only problem we had during the stay was that one of the showers were out of order, however when you get a cracking $5 bacon and egg sandwich in the morning it soon makes up for it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Kiwi paka is great if your visiting waitimo caves.convenient location, friendly staff, fantastic kitchen, common room and bathroom.

But was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, out of all the hostels I've stayed! The pillows were also very old and horrible. Such a shame because everything else was really good!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
253 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Paka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Paka

Address: Hotel Access Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $63 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kiwi Paka 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Kiwipaka has backpackers accommodation as well as Chalet rooms. There is also a Pizzeria café/restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Kiwi Paka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Paka Waitomo Hotel Waitomo Caves
Kiwi Paka Waitomo North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing