We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiwi Paka
Nearby Hotels
Waitomo Caves Hotel(Waitomo Caves)
$71
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
$110
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels(Otorohanga)(Great Value!)
$78
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
$78
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$74
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
26
59
55
23
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
59
55
23
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roompeaceful locationprivate twinquiet staygreat pizzatowels providedfree upgradetour buseschecking ingood sizecrockery and cutlerystayed for two nightstables and chairswater pressureshort staywell equipped kitchenreception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 195 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here as the Waitomo Hotel had "lost our booking" grrrr. Obviously we weren't expecting too much as this isn't what we had booked but we apologise Kiwi Paka, you were excellent! Our Chalet and the site facilites were all very clean and modern and the onsite Pizzeria had great food/coffee and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you Hotel for losing our booking as we very much enjoyed our alternative and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isobel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night with the Kiwi bus. We had a great time, the lodge was friendly, clean, centrally located (well, Waitomo is VERY small) and we slept quite well. Would recommend grabbing a drink at Curly's, the bar just across the grass. Nice place, would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

this hostel was great has everything you needed, the kitchen was good, had its own bar and food, rooms were nice, bthrooms really good, everything was really clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Have stayed at Kiwi Pakas chalets in Waitomo twice now, and will try harder to find other accomodation next time we take guests down there... OK, it certainly has positives: very central location, well-managed, quite clean, reasonably friendly staff, good breakfasts. But it's certainly not great value....

Don't expect to sleep well, uncomfortable beds (too soft), paper thin walls, hear EVERYTHING going on, even people whispering outside. Also - one of my pet peeves: squeeky doors! Forget touching bathroom door unless you want to wake everybody up - before you actually use the toilet... So annoying, as this is so easy and costs nothing to fix!

Rooms are EXTREMELY basic, examples: not a single hook in the whole room, i.e. absolutely nowhere to hang clothes or wet jacket.
Only one chair in 2 person chalet, two chairs in 4-person chalet. Can't hang used clothes on them either. Yeah, it's nice with a balcony etc. but don't expect to actually be able to sit out there on anything...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The staff were ok, not overly friendly or helpful. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, with a big dip in the middle. The first night I made my husband a cup of tea from the kettle. The second night I opened the lid of the kettle to refill it and discovered the kettle was half full of milky brown disgusting smelling water with bits floating in it. I almost threw up knowing that I had drunk from it the night before. When I mentioned this to the staff when we checked out the girl was very unhelpful and unapologetic.
The 10pm 'quiet time' was not enforced, making it very difficult to get to sleep with backpackers yelling and making noise. Very basic rooms and not worth the money we spent. We paid the same amount for the Ibis Hotel in Rotorua! ($100 NZD).
The fridge in the room was extremely noisy and had to be unplugged during the night.
The only good things I have to say were that the view was lovely and the food at the cafe was pretty good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kahlia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews