We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected”
Review of Kiwi Paka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiwi Paka
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here as the Waitomo Hotel had "lost our booking" grrrr. Obviously we weren't expecting too much as this isn't what we had booked but we apologise Kiwi Paka, you were excellent! Our Chalet and the site facilites were all very clean and modern and the onsite Pizzeria had great food/coffee and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you Hotel for losing our booking as we very much enjoyed our alternative and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isobel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Kiwi Paka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 185 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night with the Kiwi bus. We had a great time, the lodge was friendly, clean, centrally located (well, Waitomo is VERY small) and we slept quite well. Would recommend grabbing a drink at Curly's, the bar just across the grass. Nice place, would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

this hostel was great has everything you needed, the kitchen was good, had its own bar and food, rooms were nice, bthrooms really good, everything was really clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Have stayed at Kiwi Pakas chalets in Waitomo twice now, and will try harder to find other accomodation next time we take guests down there... OK, it certainly has positives: very central location, well-managed, quite clean, reasonably friendly staff, good breakfasts. But it's certainly not great value....

Don't expect to sleep well, uncomfortable beds (too soft), paper thin walls, hear EVERYTHING going on, even people whispering outside. Also - one of my pet peeves: squeeky doors! Forget touching bathroom door unless you want to wake everybody up - before you actually use the toilet... So annoying, as this is so easy and costs nothing to fix!

Rooms are EXTREMELY basic, examples: not a single hook in the whole room, i.e. absolutely nowhere to hang clothes or wet jacket.
Only one chair in 2 person chalet, two chairs in 4-person chalet. Can't hang used clothes on them either. Yeah, it's nice with a balcony etc. but don't expect to actually be able to sit out there on anything...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The staff were ok, not overly friendly or helpful. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, with a big dip in the middle. The first night I made my husband a cup of tea from the kettle. The second night I opened the lid of the kettle to refill it and discovered the kettle was half full of milky brown disgusting smelling water with bits floating in it. I almost threw up knowing that I had drunk from it the night before. When I mentioned this to the staff when we checked out the girl was very unhelpful and unapologetic.
The 10pm 'quiet time' was not enforced, making it very difficult to get to sleep with backpackers yelling and making noise. Very basic rooms and not worth the money we spent. We paid the same amount for the Ibis Hotel in Rotorua! ($100 NZD).
The fridge in the room was extremely noisy and had to be unplugged during the night.
The only good things I have to say were that the view was lovely and the food at the cafe was pretty good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kahlia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I was in a 4 bed dorm - pretty spacious and had 4 single beds which was a refreshing change to the usual bunk scenario. The beds were very soft, too soft for me. Showers and toilets were at the end of the corridor and comprised 2 showers and 2 toilets for females on each floor, I guess same for men.
A deposit was required for a towel and also for a cutlery/plate set, which was actually pretty annoying as if you were sitting on the terrace and wanted a drink you had to first go back to your room to get your cup. Kitchen not v well equipped but manageable – ok for rustling up something very simple.
Overall the rooms looked dated and kitchen was only just adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

despite some confusion checking in the reception staff were pleasant and were very welcoming. they easily managed our booking of 7 adults 2 children and an infant spreading our accommodation over a quad room, 2 twins and a double room despite being heavily booked. rooms were cosy, clean and very adequate. a satisfied experience. thanks

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_Doach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
393 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
91 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Paka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Paka

Address: Hotel Access Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $50 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kiwi Paka 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Kiwipaka has backpackers accommodation as well as Chalet rooms. There is also a Pizzeria café/restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Kiwi Paka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Paka Waitomo Hotel Waitomo Caves
Kiwi Paka Waitomo North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing