We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy ice cream”

Waitomo General Store
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Although called the 'general store', a name that harks back to the days when the buildings owners opened it as a store in 1910 ( the same family still owns the building) in fact it is a licensed cafe specialising in tasty good quality food at a sensible price.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We made a quick stop there for ice cream that was delicious. They had a nice patio where you could sit and admire the view. They had a large menu and lots of supplies for people who were camping.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mudge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    118
    46
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

After the Spellbound Waimoto Cave tour, we were very hungry. The bed and breakfast we were staying at suggested we try the BBQ at the store next door for a quick dinner. We could order steak cooked to our liking and 3 choices of their freshly made salads to make a beautiful plate! Also could select from some of the local beers! Top that off with a moist chocolate walnut brownie and a cup of coffee.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank POLE-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BBQ was a delicious surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

After a day spent in the caves, discovering this place had a BBQ on was brilliant. Tasty and great value. Such friendly staff, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank foxprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

this store has great character and is well worth the stop for a coffee. the people were very friendly and our breakfast was lovely.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAVNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Best café ever ...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went here with 3 friends after a cave trip to take some sandwiches...
We were not sure to be able to do that because it was just to complete a lunch that we already had but was just a little bit too small for our hungry estomacs...=)
They had been sooooo nice!
They let us eat our salade in the terrace, they served us with a big smile and lot of kindness, they gave us their opinion about what could be the best to eat, and the hamburger were sooooo good but cheap !! =)

We finally eat some candies for desert, made there, and played a little bit of piano, that it was discovered against the wall... good moments! ;-)

Very nice staff (we spoke with 2 girls and the owner and they were all smiling and very welcoming!), very nice place (good terrace, and good couchs inside ;-) and very tasty and original food (burgers, salads, sandwiches but candies too, chocolate, fudge...), lots of originals things (cake soap, kiwi earings...lots of little presents to buy to you friends ^^) : just excellent!

Thank you for the best dinner that we had during our hollidays!

And... Maybe you will be able to eat a new quinoa salad soon??? ^^

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GigiPachec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitomo General Store also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waitomo General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing