We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Curly's Bar

Curly's Bar
Restaurant details
Buxton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

There aren't many places to eat in central Waitomo but Curly's is a good place to go. Food is imple, good value and very generous portions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaveGill59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    74
    30
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Te Kuiti
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Burnt Down Last Night - Devastated”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This wonderful Tavern - a legend in Waitomo - was burnt to the ground last night in a devastating fire. Curly and his team and local Fire Fighters from Otorohanga and Te Kuiti where unable to save the building and its contents. We are all shocked that this wonderful establishment is now a heap of charred rubble.I have no doubt that with the community spirit and the high regard felt for Curly and Crusty, that like a pheonix, another tavern will rise out of the ashes. Our thoughts are with Curly, Crusty and the staff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good option for later at night”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We went to the bar to get some diner as the other restaurant was already closed. The burgers and drinks we had were good in taste and value. The burger special are really interesting as they combine things you would not try otherwise but are really good. As a bar it offers everything you need, from drinks, food, pool table to friendly locals and occasionally passing by police officers who come in for a short chat.

Helpful?
Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place for a bite!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

After a fun and adventure filled day, our group was famished and needed to refuel. Food selection was descent and fortunately the place was opened when we stopped by. I must say food was good. Had the big krusty bruger and although i would never finish something that massive, i ate the whole thing. Good place for a drink with friends and at very reasonable prices. Would recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to pause and refuel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

a great bar for food and drink. expectations were perfectly matched by the cold beer and Curly fries. Just the place to relax and refuel before continuing our journey.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curly's Bar also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Curly's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing