We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glow worm adventure”
Review of Caveworld

Caveworld
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.78*
and up
Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves
More Info
$46.29*
and up
Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cave World offer two fantastic tours with the aim to create memorable caving and glowworm experiences for all our customers. Either choose our fun-filled black water rafting adventure Tube It, or bring your family and friends along and join our Footwhistle Glowworm Cave Tour, a relaxed one hour guided walk down through glowworm displays and formations. We are A family-run, locally owned and operated business, Cave World specialises in providing the personal and professional touch on our authentic Waitomo tours, with over 10,000 satisfied visitors experiencing our unique piece of New Zealand each year.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great day out from Auckland. The guides, Ku and Sam, were entertaining but although they would have delivered the same jokey spiel to hundreds, probably thousands of visitors, it felt like they genuinely enjoy what they do. All of the staff, in fact, were generous and helpful and welcoming. Being a hundred meters or so below ground, in the dark, walking and floating through cold water (home to eels, rats, spiders and cave weta) to view glow worms might not be everyone's cup of tea...but our grandsons thought it was pretty cool. Recommended!

Thank Lynx X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavew0rld, Front Office Manager at Caveworld, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thankyou for your kind review of our Tube It - Black Water Rafting trip. It's always awesome to hear feedback where our customers enjoyed their experience even if there are a few creepy crawlies hanging about in our beautiful cave system :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 311 of 378 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've been coming to these caves since I was a child and still find them magical every time i visit. I would especially recommend the main glow worm caves. If you only have time for one...make it that one.

Thank justabigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our guide, Ross (the boss) recommended the night tour, fortunately for us we heeded his advice and were well rewarded. We won't ruin the many surprises for you with this tour, but can thoroughly recommend if you are planning any glo worm tour at Waitomo make it Footwhistle.

Thank TaniaChris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavew0rld, Front Office Manager at Caveworld, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback. I will be sure to let "Ross the Boss" know that you loved our twilight tour. It is a very special tour to do at night and an excellent tour for those few who stay over night in our beautiful area. We are glad you loved it as much as we do :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great guide and extremely fun tour. One of the top things I did in NZ -- really enjoyed it. Very much recommended!

Thank Aron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavew0rld, Front Office Manager at Caveworld, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hi Aron
Glad to hear you loved your tour and that it topped your list of things you did in NZ! Thats awesome feedback, thankyou :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I bought it from Grap one for half price discount, not worth it Since the receptionist staff until the tour guide is unfriendly , only 1 of the tour guide is quite take k of the group ppl. The photo DVD is not value for the money it is not clear enough and even i stand there still cannot catch the proper face. Overrall will recommend my friend to pay more money to try other company. Hope that it is improve at the momment. Thanks.

Thank Jeis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavew0rld, Front Office Manager at Caveworld, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hello Jeis
Thankyou for your feedback. Our apologies our tour did not meet your expectations. If you would like to contact us, we can address the matter further as it is both highly unusual and unacceptable to receive such service from both reception staff and guiding staff. In regards to photos, please be mindful they are taken in a cave environment, where it is wet and dark and it is optional to purchase the photo CDs, it is not compulsory. We look forward to hearing from you Jeis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caveworld also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Caveworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing