We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caveworld

Caveworld
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.13*
and up
Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cave World offer two fantastic tours with the aim to create memorable caving and glowworm experiences for all our customers. Either choose our fun-filled black water rafting adventure Tube It, or bring your family and friends along and join our Footwhistle Glowworm Cave Tour, a relaxed one hour guided walk down through glowworm displays and formations. We are A family-run, locally owned and operated business, Cave World specialises in providing the personal and professional touch on our authentic Waitomo tours, with over 10,000 satisfied visitors experiencing our unique piece of New Zealand each year.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family of four were lucky enough to do the cave world tour on our own. Our guide Richmond not only told us about the cave but also about the surrounding countryside and farms, it was very interesting. You are allowed to take photos in the cave which is great. We had plenty of time to see the worms in the dark. Would definitely recommend this tour, the tour goes for about an hour. Take a jacket with you the cave is about 14 degrees all year round. There are quite a few stairs into and out of the cave. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank austrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    56
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Smaller Groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We picked Cave World because they specialize in smaller groups (about 8-10) and they offer shorter tours. Their prices were good, too. We got a 20% discount from a coupon they had in the New Zealand tourist magazine from the airport (be sure to get a copy). Caveworld also has black water tours along the small river within the cave that take you for longer distances. Other companies may be bigger, but we appreciated the personal treatment and flexibility. We also liked the idea that it was family-run, too. We both had been to several other cave tours in other places, so what we really were interested in were these glow worms. They are unusual with their dim lights and strings that hang to catch insects. The guide showed us one closely from the lower ceiling as we came in. As we went deeper you could see more of them in "constellations" and even more as your eyes adjusted. Hard to get the effect in photos. They are definitely worth seeing, and the time spent in the caves was enough. There were beautiful cave features, but the star of the show here are the glow worms. Our guide was pleasant and friendly. Please note you will have to climb steps up and down to the cave entrance, though not severe.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Caveworld Tube It tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My partner and I did this as part of our week long holiday in November and it was the highlight of the trip for both of us. The guides were very good, and the cave and glow worms were awesome. The waterfall slide was great and we really enjoyed the crawl through the tunnel to the waterfall. And to top it off, when we lost our photo CD, I phoned Caveworld and the lovely receptionist posted us another one free of charge. I would highly recommend this tour to anybody but a wee sense of adventure is probably required.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Cool Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I did a cave tour and bushwalk with Ross. He was an excellent guide, and so knowledgeable! Funny, too! The cave was truly fascinating and the glow worms were surreal. The bushwalk was beautiful, even in the rain. "Ross the Boss' was great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATLtravelbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

$99-124 for their '2 hour' tubing 'blackwater rafting' experience was overpriced compared to other offerings. Their cave is not that impressive physically and there are better tours for seeing actual glowworms (my girlfriend did another tour and got a more David Attenborough experience - and had a much better time). Time in the cave is also a lot less than you'd expect.
Did get to do the wetsuit-in-water thing with jumps off 2 small waterfalls, but overall not worth it for the price. A disappointment, don't recommend

Other companies apparently have (variously) better glowworms, better caves (stalactites), or better adventure experiences - go with them
Don't believe the hype - ask at the i-SITE for (free) advice

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist101_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavew0rld, Front Office Manager at Caveworld, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi there Tourist101

Thankyou for your feedback and we sincerely apologise that you felt you did not receive value for money. It is our aim to provide our customers with value for money and we have not done our service to you as a customer. We do hope that you will bear in mind that included in the cost of our black water rafting tour is a government imposed goods & service tax of 15% and a cave owner commission of 10%. To operate a tour of this nature, this is unfortunately where the costs begin and not end, however, I feel it would not be in good taste to bleet on about the cost of things too much as yes we will admit, at the end of the day the aim of the company is to also make a profit - but not at the expense of our customers feeling ripped off, so again our apologies.

We do wish to clarify several things you have mentioned. There are several caving companies in the area operating out of different cave systems and each cave has it unique beauty and qualities. In terms of glowworm displays in a black water rafting tour, at the risk of sounding completely biased, our cave will win hands down and I am certain that our competitors would not debate this, we do not openly advertise this - perhaps we should do so? Our formations are beautiful but there are other adventure companies that have more spectacular formations, one tour company that comes to mind is the St Benedicts tour run by Waitomo Adventures (an excellent tour by the way). We do not proclaim to have the best of everything in a cave and no other cave company is likely to do so. I guess the point we wish to make is that our cave is no way inferior to any other cave in the area, as previously stated each cave has it's unique beauty and qualities.

Our tour time in the cave is also similar to that of other operators running a black water rafting trip. Our total tour time savings are made up largely due to the fact that our cave is easily accessible and is also based 1.5 km drive from the main village (in which we provide transportation from the Waitomo Village). Other caves in the area are based up to 10kms away, so please note that longer tours do not necessarily mean proportionately longer cave time.

Your advice to ask at the ISITE is an excellent suggestiion for those who are confused or seek better clarification of what our tour includes or any other tour in the area. The Waitomo Isite are there to provide non biased information on all company's in the area - including costings of various cave tours. It may be of some curiousity to you to know that they also happen to be our number one booking agent of our Tube It tour.

If you wish to contact us as to how you feel we could better provide value for money for our Tube It tour we would welcome your suggestions. I do hope you have enjoyed your visit to New Zealand and we will take on board your feedback with an open mind as I hope you will ours. Thankyou once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caveworld also viewed

 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Caveworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing