We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also a Must-Visit in Waitomo.”
Review of Ruakuri Cave

Ruakuri Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$883.57*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Waitomo Glow Worm Caves Experience from Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular Ruakuri Cave is a cave experience like no other. Combine with the Waitomo Glowworm Caves for a unique and magical Waitomo experience. The crystal tapestries and glowworms up close will amaze you. To book, ring 0800 782 5874
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Also a Must-Visit in Waitomo.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My friend and I bought our combo-passes to these three caves, Glowworm, Ruakuri and Aranui during our 3-day trip to Waitomo in New Zealand. Our schedule was very packed that we missed the scheduled trip to Aranui. So, a note to you guys, do plan your trip carefully as all of the caves are worth visiting :)

Ruakuri means two dogs. It's a very well-maintained cave and unlike our caves in Malaysia, it is very cold inside. You don't have to bring torchlight/headlamps and you don't have to worry about walking on slippery cave floors. The cave has suspended pathways and sensors that will turn off whenever you stand too close/try to touch the walls of the cave.

I shall not share more, you should just visit Ruakuri and be prepared to be mesmerized by it :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    128
    26
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Walk”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a spectacular short walk through bush and amazing limestone formations, and should not be missed. It was muddy after heavy rain, but boardwalks and steps provided good access.
Extremely well planned circuit through some amazing country, with adequate explanations of what you are viewing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wurfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“perfect start to our weekend”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Visited Saturday 7th of June. Booked 1.30pm but was running late. Company was able to get us in at 3.30pm with no hassles. Forgotten the name of our bright young guide. She was very knowledgable, patient and had a very good attitude. First time in this particular part of the Waitomo caves and must say it is for me, the best part of the caves. My duaghter and partner loved it as much as I did. We were with a group of 15 indians, and noticed a few ederlies. So recommend this to any age. Paths were not hard at all. Only part that looks hard is at the entrance yet walking back up did not feel hard at all for some reason. Will bring my parents here next time who are both in their 60's.
Paid $160 for 2 adults and 1 child and must say it was well worth it :)
Thanks to Ruakuri - The Legendary Black Water Rafting Co. for the tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank esagatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than Waitomo Caves”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you want a more intimate experience without the crowds then make sure you see Ruakuri Caves. Waitomo still offers a better display of glow worms but only for 5 minutes whereas Ruakuri allows you a better understanding with a guide, more time and space to get up close. There is also much more to see than just glow worms. Well worth the cost and time to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This is fabulous. Great tour guides, beautiful scene, it's so good. I loved it so much that I want to live there

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emilydixon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruakuri Cave also viewed

Otorohanga, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Ruakuri Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing