We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Waitomo Caves
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Waitomo Glowworm Caves
from $36.19
More Info
from $98.70
More Info
from $51.98
More Info
from $194.10
More Info
Reviews (5,323)
Filter reviews
5,323 results
Traveler rating
2,709
1,579
631
250
154
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,709
1,579
631
250
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride glow worms new zealand no photography tour guide minute tour small boat stalactites and stalagmites natural wonder main cave life cycle unique experience dark cave underground river cave experience black water rafting once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 5,323 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seeing the glow worms really is fascinating. A short walk in the cave and an even shorter boat ride. Photographs are not allowed (not even without flash). The cave itself is not spectacular, the glow worms are.

We had a guide but could barely hear him because the group was so big and he didn't bother to wait. When we could hear him, his explanation was rather short. It really felt like they were trying to push a maximum of tourists through the caves.

So, yes, do go see the glow worms, but choose another cave.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank KaibiganFidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover_Waitomo, Customer Service Rep at Waitomo Glowworm Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora,
Thanks for taking the time to place feedback and we hope to see you again!
Nga mihi,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were a pit put out by the cost of this attraction - $55. The tour only lasts 45 mins but the guide was good, keeping up a lively banter and imparting lots of facts. The caves had the usual stalagmites and stalagtites but the stars of the show (litrrally) were the glow worms. The way they catch their food by hanging down sticky threads and winding them in when they catch something, was fascinating. The appearance of the thousands of little lights in the roof of the cave was quite spectacular. Would have scored a five but for the price and no photographs allowed. Not even with no flash.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover_Waitomo, Staff at Waitomo Glowworm Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora
Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your tour and hope to see you again.
Nga Mihi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The glow worms were fascinating - the best part was when they turned lights on and you could see the long "stringy mucus", but you could not take photos! (Not even without a flash). The 30 minute walk through the caves, up and down a number of steps, was somewhat treacherous as there was very little light. The boat ride was about 10 minutes long and since you could not see the "stringy mucus" was like lookig at the night sky.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ralphsU2083NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover_Waitomo, Staff at Waitomo Glowworm Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed you tour. We were asked by the original owner to not allow photography, as well as it can be very unsafe as people wont be watching where they are going.
Nga Mihi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Waitomo Glow worms cave experience - AWESOME. Third time visiting and one of the best kiwi experiences......loved taking my two daughters there for the first time....

Arriving at the destination and comparing what I paid via the Trip Adviser /Viator website left a pretty bemused and sour taste.....

We were charged a $40 booking fee.....when a family pass at the destination was only $135 and we were charged $176.

I then write a polite “please explain” and no response.....not good enough.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank JamesShearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover_Waitomo, Staff at Waitomo Glowworm Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a bad experience next time you could book directly through us at Waitomo.com. I hope that with everything you still really enjoyed your tour.
Nga Mihi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did the 45 minute tour and it was a 35 minute walk and 10 minute boat ride. The whole experience was underwhelming but the glowworms were cool to see. It's worth a visit because just because glowworms are so unique.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank sopokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover_Waitomo, Staff at Waitomo Glowworm Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the Glowworms and hope to see you again.
Nga Mihi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews