We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day visit with grandkids”

Waitomo Glowworm Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$152.31*
and up
Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE WAITOMO GLOWWORM CAVES World renowned and a magnet for both local and overseas visitors, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves occupy a high placing in the New Zealand vacation wish-list. The glow worm, Arachnocampa luminosa, is unique to New Zealand. Thousands of these tiny creatures radiate their unmistakable luminescent light as our expert guides provide informative commentary on the Caves' historical and geological significance. Waitomo Glowworm Caves are a must see for any traveller. Enjoy the world famous boat ride under thousands of magical glowworms and become a part of over 120 years of cultural and natural history. THE BOAT RIDE Marvel at Mother Nature's light display as you glide silently through the starry wonderland of the Glowworm Grotto. Meander underground along the Waitomo River and gaze in silence at the myriad of glow worm lights that make up the Glowworm Grotto. As you enter this galaxy of tiny living lights, you'll immediately experience a serene ambience and be fascinated and intrigued by tiny glowworms that light your way. RUAKURI CAVE Ruakuri Cave offers a captivating blend of Waitomo's most compelling subterranean experiences. Journey down through the spectacular spiral entrance, and marvel at the softly folding shawl-like limestone formations and crystal tapestries. Hear the distant thunder of the subterranean waterfalls and get up close to the glowworms. ARUANUI CAVE Aranui Cave is a magical, mystical place that is steeped in Maori myth and legend. Just inside the entrance is a colony of native New Zealand cave wetas and further into the cave is the most beautiful collection of stalactites, stalagmites, flowstones and decorative formations.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Day visit with grandkids”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Waitomo Glowworm Cave trip with 4 young grandkids was a most enjoyable visit, we also had lunch at the centre, the very pleasant guides and staff at the centre made the day a day to remember.

Bunce Family

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,817
    1,088
    427
    156
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Raikura a hit”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Went for the family pass for all three caves. Raikura Cave first. Great guide with a lot of enthusiasm and led is at a good pace with lots of useful information. Then we went to the original Waitomo Caves. Terrible guide. Even the 9 year old felt condescended! Very tired feel with far too many people crammed in. The last cave was good with a nice bush walk and an informative guide but both the 7 and 9 year old were over it. I would recommend just going for Raikura and give the other two a miss

Helpful?
Thank Jackboswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“Glowworm Caves Waitomo”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I took my husband (not from NZ) down to these caves for our one year wedding anniversary. What an incredible experience! Our guide was great, extremely knowledgable and engaging and we loved the fact that she was a descendent of one of the original founders of the caves. The caves are just breath-taking and the infrastructure is very considerately designed to make moving through the caves easy and safe, without impacting on the natural features. The only big disappointment of the day was that a woman with a young boy who was teething insisted on taking him onto the glow-worm cave boat ride, which should have been ethereal, peaceful, magical - with an upset child's cries reverberating through the cave this was really ruined. Would be great if there was an age on limit on children being taken through this tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing 45 minute tour”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went to the caves and had a fantastic time. It's great value for money and the staff and tour guides were excellent. The sight of the glow worms in situ is eerie and otherworldly. A really amazing sight. We would recommend it very much.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose the 3 cave package so were there all day with time to relax or eat between each tour. The woman selling the tickets was rather abrupt and didn't smile once but Rachel, our first tour guide, was excellent with endless patience and good humour dealing with the young children in our tour group. She obviously loved her job and was very knowledgeable both on the caves and able to help with various camera questions on how to get the best photography results.
Our second guide was an older woman (I can't remember her name) with a very dry sense of humour. Both gave excellent spiels. All 3 caves were quite different and each worth a visit.
The restaurant staff were all helpful and cheerful and the place was clean and tidy with reasonable prices.
The walkways around the area are all interesting too, lovely bush walks.
We are pleased we took the opportunity to visit here and would recommend it as a must see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CRS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitomo Glowworm Caves also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waitomo Glowworm Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing