We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try if you are in the area”
Review of Huhu

Huhu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: HUHU Cafe offers visitors to Waitomo the opportunity to sample great New Zealand cuisine in a beautiful setting. We offer a delicious evening menu, perfect for enjoying with a cold one on the sunny deck after a hard day's caving or glow-worm spotting! You can enjoy delicious treats such as Caramelised Garlic & Goats Cheese Tart, Wild Rabbit Hotpot, Organic Rib-Eye, Dark Chocolate Souffle & Poached Tamarillos to name but a few (please note that our menu changes on a regular basis, depending on what we can source from our suppliers). Wherever possible, we use local providers - our lamb comes from farms around Te Kuiti, our cheese from Putaruru & our berries (when in season) are from Piopio. Our wine list consists of a number of great New Zealand wine varieties and our beer list features a selection of boutique beers to whet the whistle! Cosy up by our woodburner during the winter months or chill out on our deck over summer... Have we tempted your tastebuds? Well then, we look forward to seeing you at HUHU sometime soon!
2 reviews
“Must try if you are in the area”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Food was beautifully presented and incredible to eat, would highly recommend dinner here after a day on the road, great Service, great food, great value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolly187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    335
    52
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An awesome start”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

So this was our first meal in New Zealand and remained note worthy as the trip continued. The staff is very friendly. The food is delicious and the portions are large. The pumpkin soup was so nice on a nippy afternoon. The view is beautiful. The service is not fast so don't go in a hurry 'cause this is a meal you will want to enjoy. If you are in the area, DON'T MISS IT!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food here was really tasty and the service fantastic. A little more expensive than other places we saw in waitomo but worth it and close to the isite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolidayReviews90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food on our NZ trip”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived at Waitomo around 7pm on a rainy Sunday night. General store was closed and we happened upon this place by accident with the expectation it would be average cafe food at a premium price. We could not be more wrong, the food was top notch and great value considering it's location. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles_K123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing surprise!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stopped by in a Monday, a little late for lunch. The restaurant was empty and gave me the feeling we could be disturbing the staff that seemed getting ready for dinner. But I was very wrong. The waitress was friendly and we had one of our best meals ever!
The pork was to die for! And the mix of nuts they brought with the bread was delicious! Plus, they have such an amazing view!

I wish I could go back there!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dani_nagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huhu also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Te Kuiti, Waikato Region
 

Been to Huhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing