We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Caves Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caves Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice room - clean with all facilities you would want.
Although next to main highway rooms at back very quiet.
Staff very friendly and welcoming
Good restaurant - excellent food served in substatial sized portions
Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    26
    15
    3
See reviews for
32
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rooms had just been decorated and some of the fittings upgraded. Very comfortable and clean and a true motor lodge. Good value as well and welcoming staff.

Food is available but this option was not used as had other arrangements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentFoodandDrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Worn but clean, very basic, very helpful staff. Comfy bed. Get a room in the back. We had room 10. The rooms in the front would be really noisy as the road is right there. There are not many accomodations in this area, so this one is really quite good for the area. This is a great location if you are visiting Waitomo Caves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for one night, very close to the waitomo caves, very clean and great kitchen.
Large enough for a family of six, plus there is an outside balcony to use also but due to rain we didnt use it. We did run out of hot water very quickly and that was with short showers so after a day of tramping about in damp caves we were dissappointed. Didnt use the restaurant but it looked good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervo, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very close to the Waitomo Caves of glow-worm fame is this motel offering ample accomodation . Like all Kiwis, they offer very friendly and helpful assistance. We had a lavish dinner and an even more substantial breakfast at very, very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As a first time visitor to the Caves Motor Inn, I had read other reviews. But what mattered most to me were the positive reviews from couples and/or solo travellers. And much like them, I found this place very clean and tidy. The room was quite spacious and the T.V and reception very good! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the meals were definitely generous and very nice indeed! Would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I often stay at the Caves Motor Inn. From the outside it is nothing special, situated on the main road between Otorohanga and Te Kuiti, and about 10 minutes from Waitomo Caves village. The staff are amazing, friendly and welcoming. Different styles of room configuations to suit most people from backpackers to family units. The rooms are great, beds are comfortable, bathrooms spotless and a nice touch with tea, coffee, kettle, toaster etc. Nice toiletries as well.
The meals are excellent - farmer size generous proportions with salad or veges included. You actually get more than you ordered - such a change from city size. Good bar and great selection of NZ beers.
Road noise may annoy some people - but you are staying on the main road. Its farmland so very quiet and dark apart from the odd truck or train. Yes, enjoy spotting the Southern Cross and other stars on a clear night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furtherest from the road - the ones in the main building are right on the road fronta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoppyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
4.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
522 reviews
3.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
241 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kiwi Paka Waitomo
Kiwi Paka Waitomo
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
82 reviews
3.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
513 reviews
3.7 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caves Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves Motor Inn

Property: Caves Motor Inn
Address: 728 State Highway 3 | Hangatiki Junction, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caves Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Caves Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing