We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Fentonbury B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and great food”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely spot and the grounds and setting were beautiful. Great food and nice accommodation. Excellent value and well worth stopping here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hethbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aussies with a travel bug
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This place was spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm! Our hosts welcomed us to the property, showed us around and made sure we were settled in. The room was so homely and clean, there was a heater in the bathroom (which pleased us Queenslanders!). There was also a great selection of DVDs in our room and a lovely sunroom to enjoy the last hour before sunset. The location was perfect - we left Hobart at lunch after spending the morning at Salamanca markets, checked in to Hamlet Downs, had time to do a walk in Mt Field National Park (just up the road) and then back to our room for a magnificent dinner. The next morning after check out we had just the right amount of time to drive west to Strahan, stopping at lots of lovely walks on the way.
Make sure you order dinner in - great value and terrific hearty home cooked food. Breakfast was equally hearty.
It's not "trendy" but it was the best place we stayed in - far better than some of the more up-market places. 10 out of 10.
Great value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We spent one night at Hamlet Downs in their self-contained cottage mid November and wished we had stayed longer. If you are after a luxurious, old world style country farm retreat break, this is the place to stay!

Our hosts were friendly and we were settled in very quickly. They gave us a rundown on the property, were we could go or not go (keep an eye out for the electric fences!) and things to look for (platypus spotting, orchard, farm animals, veggie patch). Although where you stay is also attached to the main house were the owners live, after we arrived they made themselves invisible and we felt as though the place was all ours.

The accommodation was excellent and superb value for money; quaint country style, with two bedrooms available for us, an ensuite, sunroom/loungeroom, sitting room with fireplace, dining room and compact kitchen. The place was ABSOLUTELY SPOTLESS. I have never seen anything like it before...it was immaculate. It really felt like a home away from home, with boardgames, plenty of reading material, a wonderful selection of wines and beer (very very reasonably priced), complimentary port and sherry and choccies, comfy chairs everywhere but the highlight for me was the wonderful kitchen with everything you could possibly need for self catering and the most gorgeous view of the cottage style garden which was in full bloom during our stay.

After roaming the property and taking a zillion pictures of all the beautiflul flowers in bloom (hubby gave the macro lens a good workout), eating a wonderful meal, watching a movie, reading and retiring to a comfy bed, we felt like we'd been there for a week... we wish we had stayed that long!

The owners moved from Sydney 4 years ago for their "tree change" and it's reflected in their faces how much passion they feel for this wonderful place. Their efforts with the garden and house have been rewarded, and Hamlet Downs is definitely a true "hidden gem."

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed one night in the King room & had a good stay. The room is part of the main house, but it has extra privacy as it has its own car spot on the side with its own entrance. Also there is an adjoining sunroom which was a nice extra, with chairs & table for your exclusive use & where dinners/breakfast are served for you. Outside of your room is a small kitchen for your own use which had utensils, bar fridge, toaster, microwave.

The furnishings/furniture in the room were ok, but nothing too special. Everything was clean & tidy. The only downfall was that there are no blinds on the windows & the curtains are not blockout. There were quite a few solar lights outside which must of created a fair bit of light becuase the room wasnt really dark (but still ok as we could still sleep) & we woke up early in the morning due to the sunlight lighting up the room. Also the rooms are close together, so we could hear a bit of noise coming from the other guest's room. However luckily during the night no noise could be heard.

The country garden setting is nice & peaceful. The owners are also friendly.The dinner is also quite good with generous serves. The breakfast was particularly good value & were large servings. Is located less than an 1hr from Hobart, so is a nice alternative if you didnt want to stay in the heart of Hobart.

  • Liked — country setting, breakfast, sunroom
  • Disliked — room not dark
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jasmine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterLemnos, Owner at Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation, responded to this review, May 7, 2008
We have now installed sheer day curtains as well as light proof heavy curtains. You may now sleep in....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We stayed here in April 2007. It was very nice, we were in a room with 2 beds and was just off the large sun
porch which we had to ourselves, and where they served us breakfast. The room was extremely clean
and comfortable and nicely decorated. Plenty of storage in a large closet. Between the room and the
porch was also a kitchenette area with microwave, sink and fridge. They had wine and bottled water in
the fridge for purchase - "honor system". They do offer dinners but we were going to be away during dinner
hours - there are literally NO restaurants in the area and no real grocery stores so if you aren't going to
eat their dinner you should bring food. There are dishes and utensils you can use. They have a large
property which is nice for a quiet walk and it is very peaceful and pretty there, out in the country. A good
place to stay if you're going to Mt. Field National Park. They have laundry facilities, coin-operated, they
do ask that you not use them late at night. They have a web page. (All my attached photos are of the actual Hamlet Downs property, it's very pretty and nice for taking walks)

  • Liked — Quiet peaceful location, amenities, cleanliness, beautiful natural scenery
  • Disliked — No restaurants in the area
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NotTooFussySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Date: January 12, 2007
Reviewer: A Nature-Loving Traveller, Tokyo Japan
We stayed a night at this lovely accommodation during our recent 10-day trip in Tasmania and wished we could stay longer here.
Located in a very peaceful and quiet setting in a small village of Fentonbury, near Mount Field National Park, we could really relax here, drinking beer in a private balcony of our room with a great view of a beautiful garden and hills.
We received hearty hospitality of the hosts, Peter and Sue. They offer dinner package at a reasonable price. We opted for a Greek food dinner, which was so delicious.
There is a small dam on the property, where platypuses live. We could fortunately spot one in the early morning. We also enjoyed bird watching.
What a contrast from the busy life in Tokyo! Wish to return sometime.

  • Liked — Peaceful countryside setting
  • Disliked — None
  • Tips/Secrets — Try a chance to spot a wild platypus on site.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nature-LoverTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fentonbury
3.3 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
41 reviews
10.0 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
2.0 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sassafras Springs
Sassafras Springs
#1 of 1 in Ellendale
29 reviews
7.0 mi away
Curringa Farm
Curringa Farm
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
95 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge
Hawthorn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation

Property: Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Address: 50 Gully Rd, Fentonbury, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Fentonbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fentonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation is located on 14 hectares of beautiful gardens, fields and ponds. Comprising of a circa 1800's cottage and modern extensions, Hamlet Downs provides private suites or self-contained options for guests with varying requirements. We are located just 10 minutes drive to Mount Field National Park and near the World Heritage South West Wilderness around Lakes Pedder and Gordon. We are a great stop over between Strahan and Hobart. Hobart is just 1 hour away so use us as a base for your adventures to that beautiful city and the nearby Central Highlands around Lake St Clair, Bothwell and New Norfolk. Each suite has its own entrance, lounge/dining area, bathroom, patio and some have a kitchen/kitchenette. We also offer delicious breakfasts and dinners from light meals to 3 course a la carte feasts. Hamlet Downs is accredited by the Tasmanian and national government accreditation programs which provides comfort in knowing that we provide quality and affordable accommodation. Nearby activities include the Maydena Rail Rider, fresh water fishing, The Salmon Ponds historic trout hatchery, old Hops Oust Houses, Westerway Berry Farm in Summer, kayaking, birdwatching and of course spotting the Tasmanian wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation Tasmania/Fentonbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing