We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Fentonbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent just one night and would loved to have stayed longer. Hosts Sue and Peter were very welcoming, the accommodation clean and comfortable, meals of the highestr standard. The magnificent gardens, complete with bumble bees, allowed us to take a lovely and leisurely walk before dinner. Highly recommended for these reasons and for its close proximity to Mt Field National Park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Loved EVERYTHING about Hamlet Downs--the gardens, the cozy & clean rooms, and Paul's divine blueberry cheesecake! Best of all is the screen porch overlooking the garden--perfect for a relaxing glass of wine at the end of a long travel day in Tazzy!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a good place to break the journey north to Strahan if you’re planning on a visit to the Mount Field National Park and the Russell Falls. It’s also a great walking area. Very comfortable accommodation where you can either self-cater or opt for the inclusive b&b and dinner option. We booked the dinner option and were very glad we did since there appeared to be no eating out options in the immediate area. Apart from which we had a lovely meal with plenty of choice, served in our own private dining area; so don’t bother to try and eat out.

Hamlet Downs is in a very rural setting with extensive grounds and numerous pools where we were lucky enough to spot platypus amongst the reeds. We had the ‘King Room Suite’ with its own private conservatory dining and lounge area and separate entrance. It had great views of the gardens and the surrounding grounds and ponds.

Peter and Sue were very hospitable hosts with some helpful suggestions for our onward journey. A very relaxing place which we can highly recommend.

Room Tip: King room suite with lovely garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruckyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Warm and cosy, beautiful gardens, your own butler. Close proximity to mount field. Additional rooms can be opened up depending on your requirements. Walks available in the gardens. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA+++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddoLegends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

A warm welcome. Excellent accommodation. Terrific food served in your room. Large garden. Very covenient for Mt Field National Park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We only stayed for one night in a King Room but were very impressed with the attention to detail and professionalism of our hosts. Our dinner and breakfast were served in the sun room overlooking the garden. Food was delicious and plentiful. A nice touch that you could purchase a bottle of wine and at a reasonable price.
This is a lovely place to stay and very interesting to read the history of the property and the oast houses in the area.

Room Tip: We liked the privacy of our king room with kitchen and sun lounge but we can't comment on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieandmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed two nights in King room. Just wonderful. Fab room. fab views, spotlessly clean. Perfect hosts - unobtrusive but friendly and very informative, Attention to detail superb. Didn't see Platypus (but did see snake). Cat a bit aloof (Puss puss). Telescope for star spotting excellent. Food served in private conservatory made for a lovely eveinng. Two weeks holiday in Tassie and this was by far the best. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fentonbury
3.2 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
43 reviews
7 mi away
Curringa Farm
Curringa Farm
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
108 reviews
2 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 8 in New Norfolk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation

Address: 50 Gully Rd, Fentonbury, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Fentonbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fentonbury
Price Range: $119 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation is located on 14 hectares of beautiful gardens, fields and ponds. Comprising of a circa 1800's cottage and modern extensions, Hamlet Downs provides private suites or self-contained options for guests with varying requirements. We are located just 10 minutes drive to Mount Field National Park and near the World Heritage South West Wilderness around Lakes Pedder and Gordon. We are a great stop over between Strahan and Hobart. Hobart is just 1 hour away so use us as a base for your adventures to that beautiful city and the nearby Central Highlands around Lake St Clair, Bothwell and New Norfolk. Each suite has its own entrance, lounge/dining area, bathroom, patio and some have a kitchen/kitchenette. We also offer delicious breakfasts and dinners from light meals to 3 course a la carte feasts. Hamlet Downs is accredited by the Tasmanian and national government accreditation programs which provides comfort in knowing that we provide quality and affordable accommodation. Nearby activities include the Maydena Rail Rider, fresh water fishing, The Salmon Ponds historic trout hatchery, old Hops Oust Houses, Westerway Berry Farm in Summer, kayaking, birdwatching and of course spotting the Tasmanian wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation Tasmania/Fentonbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing