We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Fentonbury B&B and Inns
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All that and more”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have varying experiences with travel accommodation and on this This trip I decided to give B&b a bash and so far we have seen the good the ugly, the ordinary and now.... The standard all others need to meet.

My husband asked as we journeyed along the dirt road " so whats the place like?" gosh I really didn't have any idea but going from the web site it looked ok! Good things can be found on the net.... Gossip on face book, eBay bargins, your can even find my celebrant business..... However I was optimistically cautions and we rounded the front fence post, a cavalcade of color lept out at us from the garden followed by purrrrfect welcome from the cat. There was a little neat notice inviting us to call a small bell to summon our host. These little discreet notes were to be found through our King Possum Room which helped. Not only does the project a professionalism we expect when we hand over our hard earned cash, but the answered the questions I would have like to know about.

We were invited to complete our meal orders and to take a stroll around the garden. A historical little porperty outside of Fentonbury, Sue and Peter have spent the last six years putting their unique stamp on the place, massive cottage gardens, veggie patch, walking track to the ponds and a few tradition farm yard creatures to have a chat with. Well cared for but not manicured, which gives that comfortable at home feel

To my delight, when it came to meal time I didn't have to ask what I could have as a celiac, rather was told that anything could be adapted for me.... This is a rare and delightful experience. I had the roast lamb with garden veg and my husband had a steak to big to jump over, buried in succulent mushrooms ...also to his delight.

This we followed up with a shared plate of gluten free pan cakes! Scrumdelicioso!!!

I can't move now, but when I do there's is a king sized bed, with crisp sheets and a well appointed bathroom.... But for now I think I will sit a little longer, enjoy the birdsong, take in the calming view and the sound of the wind in the trees applauding our decision to choose Hamelt Downs ( no ambient light or traffice to be seen or heard. At all.... And I did check that out!) and just relax!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ctalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benalla
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I notice in the visitor book that not only are there international visitors but a large number of visitors from Hobart, only a short drive away! I'm not surprised. This place is just so relaxing. Loads of room, beautiful garden to wander in, wood fire to chase away the chill. Lots to see in the area and then a superb home cooked meal prepared by the hosts to come home to. Nothing was too much trouble and after a few hectic weeks of travel this place was just what I needed. Certainly the place to stay after traveling across from Strahan and doing way more walking than I should.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

While looking for a B&B near the Mt. Field National Forest we found Hamet Downs and checked it out on Trip Advisor. With such positive reviews our expectations were high; after spending two days and nights there we can say without reservation that every aspect of our stay exceeded our expectations.

The lovely 19th century home is set in the middle of a country garden, orchard and hobby farm. It had been converted into a B&B some time back and was tastefully and comfortably decorated, and spotlessly clean. The hosts, Peter and Sue, were so welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. We opted for the dinner, bed and breakfast package and were glad we had done so as the food was beautifully prepared and served in our suite - full cooked breakfasts and lovely dinners.There are no reliable restaurant options nearby, so this worked out fine for us. A "Greek feast" was offered as an option for $5 extra per person and was well worth it! We ordered that for our second night (24 hours notice is required) and enjoyed every bite. Peter prepared an entree plate on which he presented taster portions of several Greek dishes and the main dish was a slow-roasted leg of lamb that was perfectly done. Portions were very generous. A variety of bottles of wine were available at very reasonable prices, and wine was also available by the glass, reasonably priced.

We loved exploring the grounds (36 acres) which included several beautiful farm ponds connected by a stream, and historic pickers cabins still on the property from the days when it was a hops farm. We appreciated the selection of DVD's available and also the information about local attractions. The history of the farm itself and of the area was included in the information book.

We were interested to hear that the recent Australian film "The Hunter" was filmed in this area and that some of the crew had stayed at Hamlet Downs. While there are three separate suites (one self-contained and one with a small kitchen), all three suites can be opened up to make one large accommodation which would be great for a family occasion.

We would definitely recommend this lovely B&B to friends and family and look forward to having an opportunity to return to this peaceful, welcoming place.

Room Tip: We looked at all three suites. They are all lovely and have good views, but the king suite with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wehousesit4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterLemnos, Owner at Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate your comments about the place we love. This area with its unbelievable natural assets including Mount Field and the South West Wilderness, is one of the best places in Tasmania to visit and of course for us, to live in. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again, Peter & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package and didn't know what to expect. We'd never heard of Fentonbury but its location suited our travel plans. We drove up the driveway and were completely blown away by the view, ambience and standard of our accommodation. I don't know what it takes to warrant 5 stars but this place should have them. The property is magnificent and accommodation excellent. Hosts were extremely pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. I couldn't believe that we were offered a choice of 3 entrees and 3 mains. All sounded good so it was a tough choice. Meals were tasty and perfectly cooked. Unfortunately we'd only booked 1 night and had a booking the next night as a longer stay would have been warranted.
Mount Field National Park, nearby is a wonderful place to spend some time. There is also a fine garden down the road at Hamilton (Prospect Villa) which was unfortunately not yet open.

Room Tip: The king possom room gets the afternoon sun and has the best view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skigerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My family and I of 5 adults and 2 children stayed over at Hamlet in Oct 2010. We have been wanting to write this comment eversince and we had never stopped talking abt it until today. The place is truly awesome and it was the best place we had ever stayed. We can't thank the host Peter enough for the paradise he and his wife offered. Wish we had stayed longer and enjoyed every part of the accommodation. The photos of the accom are actually deceiving bec in real, the place is much much more beautiful than what you see. We are certainly coming back for more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srisha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
465 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We chose to stay in Fentonbury as it was near Mount Field National Park. We opted for the dinner and breakfast package which was $230 for both of us. The food was wonderful. The grounds were pleasant for a walk around. I highly recommend that you visit nearby Russell Falls as they were easily the prettiest waterfalls we saw in Tasmania.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

My partner and I drove up to Hamlet Downs after a very long morning walking around Mt Field Nation Park. It was clear that the heavens were just about to open up so we were very glad to arrive. From the get go the place looked and felt perfect. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room before being told all about it. Everything was pointed out to us including the complimentary port. We were also told how to get to the back of their property where the lakes were if we wanted to try and spot a few platypi. We fell in love with this place and were slightly saddened by the fact that we were only staying for one night. It did rain and fairly heavily but we were snug inside the beautifully decked out cottage. There were dvds to watch and although we opted for the room without a kitchenette there were still ample tea/coffee making utensils as well as a couple of plates. They also offer extremely well priced meals and drinks. After the rain stopped we went for a walk to explore the area. What we found was just gorgeous and luckily we did see a wallaby and a few platypi splashing around in the water. The tracks to the lakes were well maintained and clearly labelled (unlike another 'similar' place we stayed at). They grounds were just gorgeous and it is a lovely, quiet and secluded place. I can't recommend this place enough. There was nothing we disliked about it. We plan to return next year for our honeymoon, that is how much we enjoyed Hamlet Downs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EspressoTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fentonbury
3.3 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
10.0 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Curringa Farm
Curringa Farm
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
95 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge
Hawthorn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
24 reviews
17.2 mi away
Tasmanian Wilderness Experiences - Base Camp Tasmania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation

Property: Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Address: 50 Gully Rd, Fentonbury, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Fentonbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fentonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation is located on 14 hectares of beautiful gardens, fields and ponds. Comprising of a circa 1800's cottage and modern extensions, Hamlet Downs provides private suites or self-contained options for guests with varying requirements. We are located just 10 minutes drive to Mount Field National Park and near the World Heritage South West Wilderness around Lakes Pedder and Gordon. We are a great stop over between Strahan and Hobart. Hobart is just 1 hour away so use us as a base for your adventures to that beautiful city and the nearby Central Highlands around Lake St Clair, Bothwell and New Norfolk. Each suite has its own entrance, lounge/dining area, bathroom, patio and some have a kitchen/kitchenette. We also offer delicious breakfasts and dinners from light meals to 3 course a la carte feasts. Hamlet Downs is accredited by the Tasmanian and national government accreditation programs which provides comfort in knowing that we provide quality and affordable accommodation. Nearby activities include the Maydena Rail Rider, fresh water fishing, The Salmon Ponds historic trout hatchery, old Hops Oust Houses, Westerway Berry Farm in Summer, kayaking, birdwatching and of course spotting the Tasmanian wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation Tasmania/Fentonbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing