We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in the 2 BR cottage and the setting was lovely. We had our own patio with views to the river and garden and our own enclosed garden area. The grounds are a gardener's paradise and admirable by anyone's standards. Afternoon tea and basic breakfast ingredients were left for us when we arrived. Overall a delightful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Glad you enjoyed the 2 bedroom Apartment and garden surrounds. It really is a beautiful time of the year when most plants are in flower. Thanks for sparing the time to review Donalea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Our recent stay on the Huon Trail was made so Special as a result of the friendliness of the hosts of this top class B&B. We were pleased to be offered recommendations for sighseeing and dining opportunities which made for a very memorable experience in this most picturesque part of Southern Tasmania.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We were delighted to receive your review and glad you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us and the wonderful scenery that the Huon Valley offers. Yes, we are also very lucky to be surrounded by good eateries in Franklin, Port Huon & Huonville. Hope to see you return to Donalea one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A very comfortable old home with beautiful gardens in a tranquil setting with views to the Huon River Estuary. Don and Leanne are excellent generous hosts who run a friendly business.
( Unfortunately, I can't seem to NOT rate the "Swimming Pool" and "Fitness centre" which don't exist!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thanks John for reviewing our accommodation and glad you enjoyed your 3 night stay in this beautiful part of the world. Yes, a pool is not necessary so far this cool Summer and you can certainly get fit wandering the garden and nearby walking tracks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Donalea. The room was spacious, comfortable and well maintained as was the whole of the accommodation area. The home made breakfast was lovely. Hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Garden lovely to wander in.
We will return! Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_Sydney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thanks Julie for your kind review and so glad you not only enjoyed the accommodation and breakfast, but managed to wander the gardens. They really are a joy to see at this time of the year. Look forward to seeing you back in the Huon Valley one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable suite with separate bathroom and second toilet. We arrived bit later in the afternoon and had some r&r time before heading off for dinner at Franklin Hotel. Wish we could of stayed for another night. Had the best sleep of all places we've stayed here. Breakfast was lovely and glad we didn't have to sit thru another bacon and eggs. Must try the homemade rhubarb compote :-)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hippielove39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review. The Spa Suite is very popular with our accommodation and i agree that the second toilet room is a real bonus. We pride ourselves on peace and quiet here in the country and am not suprised you had a wonderful sleep. Glad you enjoyed some of our homemade goodies, including the breads, muffins jams and home grown rhubarb. Best wishes and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We loved our one night stay at Donalea. Everything from afternoon tea, to the decoration of the room, home made bread for breakfast was delightful. Sitting on the porch eating afternoon tea with the beautiful view, was a highlight. Wish we could have stayed longer!!
Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RobYoungAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Your review is very welcome and much appreciated. We believe a good afternoon tea is essential after a long day out travelling and glad you got to enjoy the beautiful views and reflections of the Huon River. Leanne takes great pride in baking bread the old fashioned way and it has become a favourite of many guests. Hope to see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were very pleased that we chose to stay here for our last few nights of our holiday. Pity most of the towns and Hobart were closed for business during Christmastime (perhaps, the owners could advise future guests about food & dining options during holiday periods on the website or via email). Nevertheless, Donalea offered a peaceful and beautiful home away from home. Thank you Leanne and Don!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvbluey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thankyou for your review of Donalea and we are very glad you enjoyed your peaceful 2 night stay here in the Huon Valley. Yes, Christmas is a difficult time for eating out and like most places, very few cafes and restaurants are open for business. We certainly will make this clearer to any guests intending to stay on X'mas day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Donalea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donalea Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Crowthers Rd, Castle Forbes Bay, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Castle Forbes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Forbes Bay
Price Range: $99 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donalea Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donalea is a beautiful two bedroom Bed and Breakfast and Riverview Apartment, with over an acre of cottage gardens. The property has stunning views of the Huon River and is located in the heart of the Huon Valley. A very private country retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donalea Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing